We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, unwelcoming and tired.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Myriame Dolders
Ranked #12 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked the ground floor room for three nights in December and specifically asked that the room be warm when we arrived. However on arrival we were informed the ground floor room was unavailable but we could have the large attic room for the same price. We managed to make our way up some very precarious steps to the attic room which had 4 double beds in it (we only wanted one!) The room itself was looking in need of some TLC, the heating was on (just) but the temperature was set to 15 degrees centigrade on the thermostat (hardly warm when it was freeing outside). We thought do we want to stay in this cold tired room for 3 nights? The answer ..no! So we left and made our way round the corner to the Atlas B&B which although 25 Euros more - well worth paying the extra for a decent room in nice surroundings.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found Myriame to be a lovely host who took the time to make us comfortable and gave us some great suggestions of where to go in the city she's rightfully proud of.

My husband and I stayed in the 40m2 room which was very large and comfortable, my father was accommodated in the garden room which was small and cosy (but this was reflected fairly in the price). Breakfast each morning was lovely and authentic, and ample!

The house itself is over 300 years old so it isn't a modern, slick and shiny new house but is is being lovingly restored and has charm and character in abundance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and it's practically just around the corner to the historical centre of Gent.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We booked this Bed & Breakfast for three nights in June. Myriame was very helpful with parking and suggestions on what to see and where to eat. The place was more like a self-catering apartment since the breakfast was very small and simple provided on a tray left outside the door, and because it included a full kitchen, living room, beds for six people, and ample room to move around, but garbage was emptied and towels were changed during our stay. We enjoyed being left alone to come and go as we pleased, and we booked this property to be close to Brugge and the Brussels airport, but fell in love with the city of Ghent. The location was excellent to walk and explore the lovely city, and by staying so close to the city center, we were able to go on many little walks back and forth from the property. The inside was rustic and a little shabby, but we loved it. All kids will love to climb up the ladder and have a little fort to themselves. I did read the other negative review before booking this place, but decided to give it a try and was glad I did. Myriame was very nice to talk to and her English was wonderful, and she even offered to let us check our
e-mail in her private apartment. We enjoyed the Bed & Breakfast and the city of Ghent and would stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreemanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Our family (four people-47,49,22 and17 years old) were one night in Myriame's B&B in May 2011. We traveled by car and arrived rather late, may be about 9 pm. Myriame waited for us, gave free parking place and was very warm and hospitable. She answered all our questions: where better to eat, where better to buy famous Belgian chocolate and french fries and so on. It is true that the house is very old but it looks charming. Some things look a little bit shabby but you can feel a real history. We left Myriame's placewith warm feelings in our hearts.
Andrey Denisov and his family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ad_peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Should you ever decide to visit Ghent, here's one tip: DON'T book Mrs. Dolders' Bed and Breakfast....The reception we got from her was all but warm and friendly (although this should be, I think, a requirement when you decide to open a B&B), and we immediately understood there was a whole list of rules we had to abide by (the most important one being that you are forbidden to make ANY noise whatsoever- I can imagine that this is quite difficult to live up to, especially with children), the room was not worth its money (poor insulation, basic bathroom facilities e.g. no warm water in the washbasin).

Positive points were the location and breakfast, but for me, these 2 don't weigh up to the poor service.

Only after receipt of her money (cash), mrs. Dolders was able to produce some friendly talk...

There are plenty of good B&B's in Ghent, but this is not one of them I'm afraid....A definite no-go.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: sehr zentral, aber trotzdem ruhig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: de zolder is een familiekamer met veel ruimte, het huisje is super mooi ingericht, de Bourgondische...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groentje-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#20 of 39 in Ghent
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#6 of 115 in Ghent
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 115 in Ghent
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hamptons
The Hamptons
#36 of 115 in Ghent
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Myriame Dolders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Myriame Dolders

Address: Abrahamstraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing