We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky & Charming: In the Heart of Ghent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Myriame Dolders
Ranked #9 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Funky & Charming: In the Heart of Ghent”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Madame Dolders offers up some amazing digs (and tasty breakfasts) at her eclectic-yet-homey guesthouse, just a couple of blocks from the Gravensteen. After spending 6 days there, I can gratefully say that Myriame is a warm and welcoming host, and the rooms are incredibly unique and comfortable. The attic room where I stayed could sleep 10 comfortably, and it offers a sweet little distant view of the Belfry and St. Bavo's. Also, Madame Dolders is an art historian by training, so do be sure to stop and chat with her about the local art & architecture!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rytch303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
49
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

On a recent business trip to Brussels, I was able to take a couple of personal days to visit a college friend in Gent. She and her husband found me this place, and said they'd reserved a room. Imagine my surprise when I got there and found a whole apartment! I stayed in the downstairs front room, that looks right out on Abrahamstraat. Roomy and comfy seating area, cozy bed tucked away, and a loft above with more beds! Full kitchen with pans, utensils, dishes, etc. It was almost a shame that I was traveling alone - this would be great for a family - kids would love climbing up to the loft beds, and being able to cook in is very economical (every bit helps traveling with kids!). The B&B is about 2 blocks from the castle (Gravensteen), in a beautiful little neighborhood of winding, cobblestone streets, and VERY quiet at night. Oh, and the breakfast! I suspect she made eggs because I'm an American, but it was a lovely surprise - beautiful sunny-side-up and perfectly seasoned. And of course fantastic European breads and spreads and coffee - and a Belgian chocolate! I was there on a very cold night in January, and had neglected to ask Myriam how to adjust the thermostat until it was very late at night, and I didn't want to bother her. If you're there in cold weather, be sure to ask when you check in - she is so friendly and welcoming. The price was really reasonable, especially given the convenient neighborhood and how big the room/apartment is! I will absolutely stay here the next time I get to Gent - next time with the whole family in tow, for at least a week!

Room Tip: Downstairs front room/apartment is where I stayed. There's also a small room in the back downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlixMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostend, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

About two years ago, we decided to organize a city trip to Ghent with the entire extended family. It was not easy to find a guesthouse in Ghent that would have 4 or more people, but Miss Dolders was more than happy to help us out. The downstairs room was so spacious that it can only be described as a cosy apartment with a separate kitchen and a private bathroom. Miss Dolders was eager to explain to us all kind of interesting historical facts about Ghent (apparently she is a historian) and was always available when we needed help, finding our way in the city. The breakfast she served us was delicious and I still remember the quirky way she served her amazing coffee (in "plungers"). We have since recommended this B&B to many friends and relatives and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else next time we visit beautiful Ghent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked the ground floor room for three nights in December and specifically asked that the room be warm when we arrived. However on arrival we were informed the ground floor room was unavailable but we could have the large attic room for the same price. We managed to make our way up some very precarious steps to the attic room which had 4 double beds in it (we only wanted one!) The room itself was looking in need of some TLC, the heating was on (just) but the temperature was set to 15 degrees centigrade on the thermostat (hardly warm when it was freeing outside). We thought do we want to stay in this cold tired room for 3 nights? The answer ..no! So we left and made our way round the corner to the Atlas B&B which although 25 Euros more - well worth paying the extra for a decent room in nice surroundings.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found Myriame to be a lovely host who took the time to make us comfortable and gave us some great suggestions of where to go in the city she's rightfully proud of.

My husband and I stayed in the 40m2 room which was very large and comfortable, my father was accommodated in the garden room which was small and cosy (but this was reflected fairly in the price). Breakfast each morning was lovely and authentic, and ample!

The house itself is over 300 years old so it isn't a modern, slick and shiny new house but is is being lovingly restored and has charm and character in abundance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and it's practically just around the corner to the historical centre of Gent.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We booked this Bed & Breakfast for three nights in June. Myriame was very helpful with parking and suggestions on what to see and where to eat. The place was more like a self-catering apartment since the breakfast was very small and simple provided on a tray left outside the door, and because it included a full kitchen, living room, beds for six people, and ample room to move around, but garbage was emptied and towels were changed during our stay. We enjoyed being left alone to come and go as we pleased, and we booked this property to be close to Brugge and the Brussels airport, but fell in love with the city of Ghent. The location was excellent to walk and explore the lovely city, and by staying so close to the city center, we were able to go on many little walks back and forth from the property. The inside was rustic and a little shabby, but we loved it. All kids will love to climb up the ladder and have a little fort to themselves. I did read the other negative review before booking this place, but decided to give it a try and was glad I did. Myriame was very nice to talk to and her English was wonderful, and she even offered to let us check our
e-mail in her private apartment. We enjoyed the Bed & Breakfast and the city of Ghent and would stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreemanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Our family (four people-47,49,22 and17 years old) were one night in Myriame's B&B in May 2011. We traveled by car and arrived rather late, may be about 9 pm. Myriame waited for us, gave free parking place and was very warm and hospitable. She answered all our questions: where better to eat, where better to buy famous Belgian chocolate and french fries and so on. It is true that the house is very old but it looks charming. Some things look a little bit shabby but you can feel a real history. We left Myriame's placewith warm feelings in our hearts.
Andrey Denisov and his family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ad_peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Myriame Dolders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Myriame Dolders

Property: B&B Myriame Dolders
Address: Abrahamstraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing