We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably beautiful, charming 17th century house B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Myriame Dolders
Ranked #13 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We came to Ghent for four nights for work and pleasure and stayed at Myriame's place. I was attending a conference at the university, so it was important for me to be able to have the space to work a little, which was not a problem at all. Myriame is a truly wonderful, warm, charming hostess. She gave us some fantastic tips about what to see in Ghent, some great places to eat and drink, and is a very intelligent, interesting woman to talk to. When we realised we were standing outside the building on arrival we were very excited, as the building itself is quite spectacular. We stayed in both rooms over the period. The downstairs room made our jaws drop when we first entered! It's authentically, rustically decorated with beautiful paintings and furniture and the bed was very comfortable. We really appreciated having a kitchen available to us, even if only to make an extra cup of coffee in the morning. The second room in the attic is absolutely huge, again quite breathtaking. It was a real luxury to have such a big space for a couple. We loved the breakfast -- always some little surprise on the tray, and it was lovely to be able to eat in the privacy of our own space if you're not in the mood to get up and dressed yet. Myriame made us feel totally at home in her beautiful house, allowed us to smoke in the hallway, landing and garden (a real luxury!) and at the end of the trip even left a little box of chocolates on our suitcase. An absolute gem of a place, and perfectly located in the historical centre of gorgeous Ghent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent 3 nights in the little appartment at the groundfloor. Very charming location in the centre. Myriame is a very friendly person. The breakfast is nice, always different with a little surprise. And Gent is a beautiful city. Sure we will return next year!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank M00sje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Myriame is a lovely Hostess, very warm & engaging and delighted to share information about sights to see, best restaurants & markets etc. From the minute we stepped in the hall door we both loved the building and the apartment , it was a genuine 17th century house, and had a lovely olde worlde, rustic charm. if you want sleek and modern with flat screen tv etc, you might prefer a hotel but for me staying at Myriame's was a lovely, personal experience that couldn't be matched by any bland hotel chain.
Breakfasts were vegetarian, and absolutely delicious, we had cooking facilities also in the apartment on the ground floor and a lovely space in the room for sitting and lounging around in. This room could accommodate 2-6 people and had it's own kitchen and shower/toilet room. No T.V but radio/CD player and books available.
It was so convenient to the historic centre, just a few minutes walk. We stayed for 4 nights culminating in a Leonard Cohen Concert at St Pietersplein and we were able to walk back from the concert in 20 minutes. I can't wait to go back again to Ghent and bring our daughter this time so that she can enjoy the experience too. OR if Leonard plays Ghent again, I'll be back!! Majella H from Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajellaH600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Only stay at Myriame's place if you want the following:

**Beautiful 18th C rooms, renovated to a high standard and decorated with an eye to aesthetic pleasure;
**comfortable, spacious accommodation in a quiet location;
**access to historic city centre within 5 minutes on foot;
**a delicious breakfast brought to your door when you want it;
**a friendly, kind, humorous and intelligent landlady.

Don't stay here if you want a TV screen bigger that your bed (there was no TV, but plenty of books!) or if you would rather spend time in a gym instead of seeing the lovely city you have come to visit. (If you do get tired of sightseeing, the room is comfy enough to slouch around in to your heart's content!)

Myriame was very accommodating when we had to change some plans; she cycled 14 km to get the fresh farm eggs for our yummy omelette (!) and she was always friendly and cheery.I honestly didn't want to leave again!

This place gets absolutely top marks from me--it is by far the best hotel or B&B I have ever stayed at.

So--go there--and enjoy!

Laura

Room Tip: Myriame has 3 rooms (only 2 seem to be listed on her site): a single room; a room that could accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This summer, five of us spend four nights at Myriam Dolders' B&B conveniently located close to the beautiful historic center in Ghent. We occupied the very spacious upper loft with room for up to eight persons. The beds were comfortable, the linen impeccable, and bath towels were changed every day. The ceiling fan kept us cool in the night. Morning breakfasts included eggs, cheese, nice wholesome breads, yogurt, juice, coffee or tea, and Belgian chocolate. Myriam is a friendly and hospitable hostess. She gave us suggestions for restaurants, places to see, museums, and where to eat the best waffles. We recommend Myriam's B&B for friends and family stays.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great location, just a few minutes walk from all the activity, so really calm at night. We got a super big apartment. Be aware though that there is only one real bed; the other beds are mattresses on the floor or a fold out couch. Bathroom and kitchen could have been cleaned better. Breakfast is poor, no cereal, yoghurt, cheese, meat or fruits.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldCTZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

we had a great time in Gent. The room (looks more like an appartment) is very spacious. You can feel the history in this beautiful old house.
The breakfast is very good, every day something else :)
Just a few minutes walk tot the historic center of Gent.
I will recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FemkeG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#15 of 39 in Ghent
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 116 in Ghent
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#5 of 116 in Ghent
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hamptons
The Hamptons
#35 of 116 in Ghent
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Myriame Dolders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Myriame Dolders

Address: Abrahamstraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing