We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Oasis in Historic Centre of Ghent - susan m.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Myriame Dolders
Ranked #13 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have returned many times to my favourite B&B in Ghent. It is such a warm and welcoming place to stay. Myriame is very knowledgable and generously shares her knowledge of Ghent and Belgium with her guests. On my first stay she lent me a tapestry book when she discovered my interests and told me about the special markets which added to the pleasure of my stay in Ghent even more. My visit this spring was like being home away from home. Myriame's home cooked breakfasts are made with special care for her guests. They are unique and always with a personal touch which sometimes includes local cheeses, homemade breads and jams, fruits and Belgian chocolate.
B&B Myriame Dolders is conveniently located in the historic centre, close to the scenic river and the castle. Everything is a short walking distance. A few steps will also take you to the tram that goes to the train station. It is on a quiet street with peaceful surroundings.
It is a beautifully restored and comfortable historic home which respects the old architecture and has many new features beautifully integrated. Among these features is the walled garden and the window looking onto the garden where there is a breakfast table.
As a solo traveller the beautiful garden room where is stayed is a quiet oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chez-rouleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights & loved it! Myriame was so welcoming & gave us so much advice & recommended restaurants. The house was quirky but lovely, we always try & stay in local B&Bs.
We were able to park the car & walk into the town in 5 mins. There are a lot of stairs in the house so not good if you have mobility problems.
The breakfasts were awesome!
We moved rooms so that we could sit comfortably. The room wasn't as warm as it could have been but it was a wet cold weekend!
We would recommend it!


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PaulineRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a fantastic experience for travelers who want to experience the city from a resident's perspective. Myriame and Henri are the most accommodating hosts, sharing kindness and offering advice on a variety of easy, beautiful walking tours of Ghent. In addition, you can learn about places to visit near Ghent, etc. Breakfast is homemade and wonderfully presented. All this together with a fantastic location in the city center makes for a wonderful time in Ghent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arubabuschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was one of those unique opportunities to stay at a lovely B&B that wins votes immediately because of its exceptional location. It also gets big reviews for the actual B&B which is quirky in a very good way. We had the downstairs apartment, which was nice and large with ample bedding for more than 2 people, a delightful lounge, kitchen and bathroom with an outside area. We really liked the historic property and the various knick knacks that Myriame has furnished it with. Everyone raves about her breakfasts and with total justification. No 2 breakfasts were the same and she really catered for anything that we wanted. She also liked to surprise us with treats like her hot chocolate made with very high quality belgian chocolate and eggs from"happy" chickens. Myriame herself is simply fabulous. She knows so much and it is well worth engaging her in conversation to learn more about Ghent. She is also extremely kind and generous. Due to a broken leg, I was doing it a little tough so she drove us to the museums and to the train station despite us saying we would get a taxi. This was an awesome stay in a beautiful B&B with a tremendously kind and lovely lady. Many many thumbs up for Myriame Dolders B&B
We have written about Ghent on our travel site www.contentedtraveller.com and have an upcoming post specifically about Myriame;s B&B. This is not because we got paid, but because we like it 'that' much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Husband and I and our two adult daughters shared the "Burgundy room" apartment for two nights a couple of weekends ago.
Myriame was a great host, starting with her prompt and friendly reply to my online enquiry some months before, through to her helpful suggestions about where to visit and eat when we arrived, and her fabulous breakfast trays (although Myriame's brother deserves credit for breakfast on our second morning!)
The location of the b'n'b is a bonus - it doesn't have water views, however the price is right, and you feel as though you are staying with the locals rather than the tourists, in a very atmospheric and historic street just a short walk from central Ghent and the Gravensteen Castle.
The four of us shared a bedroom, which we're comfortable to do, and it didn't feel too cramped as we had use of a separate eat-in kitchen and bathroom. Myriame is very conscious of energy conservation, and it suited us fine to follow her polite request to turn off lights and heating in parts of the apartment when they weren't needed.
We also enjoyed meeting and having visits from the house dog, Henri.
Overall, a very pleasant stay, and we'd be happy to recommend this b'n'b to other visitors to the gorgeous city of Ghent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a delightful 3 day stay with Myriame in her superbly located town house in Gent. The warmest welcome was given as well as the best tips for places to eat and visit. Myriame is a font of knowledge and loves her town and gave good advice all round. The house was comfortable, well equipped and decorated in a very artistic style which matched the 18th Century grandeur of the building. There is a lovely courtyard garden and it was like being in a living stately home. The breakfast was excellent and kept us going well beyond lunch time. We found a gem of a place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Italian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Myriame’s has a super location within minutes of all major sites and a charming and quirky hostess who serves excellent breakfast. I took the cheaper option – a tiny room in the courtyard – so I am not in a position to complain about its Spartan comfort level – you get what you pay for. There was an Internet problem we were unable to resolve, but, fortunately, there was a youth hostel around the corner where they had no objections to me going online. i definitely will consider staying with Myriam again, though I will go for the more expensive option.

Room Tip: if you are alone and 20 y.o., cheaper version is ok, but go for the more expensive one otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidwgurevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#15 of 39 in Ghent
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#5 of 115 in Ghent
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 115 in Ghent
293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Emma
Villa Emma
#14 of 115 in Ghent
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Myriame Dolders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Myriame Dolders

Address: Abrahamstraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing