We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Base in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Base in Ghent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

We spent the Easter weekend in this Novotel property. We made an advanced purchase booking for 85 Euros per night including breakfast which was very good value indeed. The hotel was difficult to find in the dark by car but the helpful emailed directions from Gunther at reception enabled us to find and park at Parking P1. This car park is very near the hotel, very clean safe and secure & 5 euros cheaper per day than the hotel car park (if we could have found it). This Novotel is completely different from the standard Novotel appearance having been integrated into some old historical buildings in the very centre of Ghent. On arrival we were greeted by a very unpleasant smell. There had clearly been some kind of mishap and by the next morning it was clear that the carpet where the problem was had been replaced. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The standard room on the 2nd floor was of a good standard and looked recently refurbished. The shower in particular was excellent (a ‘walk in’ shower). Breakfast was very good with very good local produce as well as warm bacon, eggs and sausages. The service was efficient. The hotel is very well situated for both shopping and sightseeing in this beautiful city. There are also many good restaurants in the vicinity. For example opposite the rear entrance of the hotel on the Hoogpoort is an excellent ‘home cooking’ restaurant. The proximity of restaurants and bars does however mean that there can be a lot of noise in the street especially on Saturday night. However, the windows were well sealed and this reduced the noise to acceptable levels. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in Ghent.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    621
    182
    36
    20
See reviews for
381
419
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baile atha cliath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

Spent two days here in feb. Lovely hotel, has everything you need right in the city centre. Rooms are very comfortable and pristine clean. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Room Lay Out
  • Disliked — Internet Was Not Free
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ocomaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

Fantastic hotel right in centre of Ghent. Site was historically an old old vault type restaurant?! (not really sure though), and a large part of this original building still remains and has been incorporated into the new hotel, which looks stunning - a bit different to your usual run of the mill Novotel. Immaculately clean and well furnished room and bathroom, though we were overlooking the street below which was noisy early morning and late at night. With a B&B tariff, had breakfast delivered to the room at no extra charge; full continental, which was unexpectadly huge and delicious!!! Would definately recommend.

  • Liked — Location, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — Problem with door key-card, noise from road.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSue27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

If its location location location you are most looking for , then its the Novotel for you. Centre ville is a term we have all had cause to curse, this one really is what it says on the tin! Breakfast for the hungry only, rooms adequate, service very good, sunny terrace with unheated pool excellent.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Aletaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

Another journey to Ghent, another couple of hotels to try. We booked this stay on the Accor site and got a great deal at €99 per night including breakfast.

Room and reception standard Novotel, breakfast not quite as good as we have had at others. Aachen stands out as a fantastic breakfast, but that one is a Dorint Novotel. Excellent pastry, fruit salad good, coffee only from carafes. Plenty of supply and happy staff. Really runny scrambled eggs early or late - too watery for us and my wife likes them runny. We were the first ones to breakfast on the Saturday and none of the hot food was out before 6:15.

Very small and inconvenient underground carpark (15€/night) with particularly strange one way system which I thought unnecessary. The room TV was hard to use because channel number was not on screen.

All in all, would happily return for the rate, but prefer Hotel Harmony which we review seperately.

  • Liked — Room 333 has a fantastic view of all the towers and can hear bells (only) if window open
  • Disliked — difficult carpark (but others available),eggs at bkfst (but all else good)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmrdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

We recently spend 3 nights in the Novotel, on a first visit to Ghent. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is in the centre of Ghent, a few minutes walk from everything you need.
It is the standard you would expect from a Novotel, a good chain, and does exactly what it says on the tin.
There is an adequate breakfast, though the only morning I had it I felt quite unwell for a couple of hours afterwards.
This is a base, a clean, functional, well equipt hotel. As a chain, it doesnt have character etc, but you know that when you book. The location for me was the winner, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

2 nights, 2 rooms in the hotel: 2 adults and 3 children.
Very nice hotel; friendly staff; room bigger than expected for a Novotel; located in the historical centre.
To find the hotel: follow the parking sign P9 when entering the town and then turn right at the corner of the Sofitel. If no parking in the hotel, go to the 'Vrijdagmarkt' (10 min walk)
Choose a room with a garden view (f.e. room 333) if you don't want the noise from the street. Prices are the best if booking at the hotel website (120 euro - breakfast 17 euro). Nice breakfast but do sit somewhere at the entrance because of the noisy crowd near the buffet. Nice and quiet bar for an evening drink.
Would recommend it!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno.bemelmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Property: Novotel Gent Centrum
Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing