We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, good base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Good clean hotel in a very central location. Clean and tidy rooms and great to get a full English breakfast on the continent. Car park is very small and tight and needs to be booked in advance but is better than trying to find local parking. Getting to the hotel in a car requires running the gauntlet of bikes in the city centre, be careful.
Bar has a decent choice of food in the evening, like all hotels a bit pricey.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.


TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel has all you need, clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast and above all friendly service. We did not have dinner here because there are many restaurants nearby. Location could not be better right in the center of Gent. Parking under the hotel is convenient but small.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Goede avond,

Wij stellen uw opmerkingen over uw verblijf in Novotel Gent Centrum erg op prijs. Het is altijd prettig om positieve reacties te mogen ontvangen.

Uw opmerkingen zullen wij overbrengen aan ons team. Wij zijn ervan overtuigd, dat uw reactie ons personeel zal stimuleren om voortdurend te blijven streven naar een hoge kwaliteit van onze dienstverlening.

Nogmaals bedankt voor het delen van uw ervaringen en wij hopen dat uw volgende bezoek even prettig zal verlopen als het vorige.

Hoogachtend,

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Quality standard hotel, as expected from the NOVITEL chain of hotels. The hotel/room interiour is up-to-date, exactly similar to what you will find in other Novotel hotel chains. So being a loyal customer, you will feel homy :-).
Good breakfast, and comfortable bed. Good location, but far from the train station, but right in the city center. The staff had troubles speaking English, and was not really friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massao. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for touring downtown Ghent. Room was large and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, not because the food was poor, but it just felt like a breakfast buffet at an average hotel in the U.S. However, I found it difficult to find a breakfast spot nearby that was open before 9am (I guess this is typical for Europe but I needed coffee and food at 6 am).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincere regards

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel looked. We had a nice size room, however when I bounced onto the bed I almost knocked myself out as the bed was so hard! It had a very thin, lumpy mattress which felt like a cheap sofa bed. It also had a separate toilet to bathroom which I found very odd for a hotel and extremely annoying / inconvenient. Worse than this, however, was the service at night. While the gentleman who checked us in in the early evening was extremely helpful and polite, the man who worked the late shift was the complete opposite. We asked him where we could still buy food nearby at just gone 1am and after asking the receptionist to repeat his extremely vague directions he became very snappy and rude. It eventually transpired that the hotel serves pizza through the night (although apparently not willingly!) so we ordered one and were advised that it could take up to 15 minutes to be delivered. We happily agreed to this and I stayed awake while awaiting its arrival over twenty minutes passed before we received a snappy phone call to tell us that the hotel had no pizzas left. The man on reception then went on to complain about how he couldn't check people into the hotel and serve us at the same time. I was shocked as I have never come across such bad hotel service in my life. I would certainly think twice before staying in a Novotel again and most definitely would not recommend this one to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sezzarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Good morning sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I will take this up with my GM to prevent this from happening again.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

TOUNE Sven
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

you get their park your car and you wont need it until you leave
right in the centre as the name says but also near every attractions or monument as well as restaurants
really good, room was nice and of a good size

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here recently for a city break. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast, quite a wide selection of food. The rooms were nice, very clean. Perhaps not much of a view, but it was lovely to hear the bells of the Belfry. Fantastic location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £91 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing