We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

OK, so it is only a Novotel, and the accommodation is absolutely 'Novotel like', but for a 4 day stay here on business, it was perfect. Centrally located (drive there at your peril, park in the exceptionally tight garage with even more shredded nerves). Great bar. Even has a (small) pool. Easy to walk out to restaurants nearby, including the great Amadeus just around the corner if ribs are your thing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincerely yours

TOUNE Sven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in room 311, which is under one of the arches you can see in the front of the hotel.
The room was huge and the windows go right to the top of the arch, giving really good view of the church on the other side of Goudenleeuwplein.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable and is located right in the city centre.
Gent is a great town for sight seeing and there are plenty of friendly bars, so all in all a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room under an arch, such as 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vegan_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincerely yours,

TOUNE Sven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 but didn't realise until we got there, that there was the biggest free music festival in Europe being held in Ghent for 5 days! Evidentially this is an annual event so if you dont like thousands of people everywhere I wouldn't recommend that you visit Ghent at this time, also because there were so many music stands, outside bars and canopies erected, you could not get the full beauty of this City. Having said that we did actually enjoy ourselves!

Because of this event most of the roads were blocked around the hotel, so we did have a slight problem getting to the hotel but they had put signs up for us to follow, using all the back alleys which proved excellent.

On arrival at the hotel we parked the car in there underground car park (16 euros per night) and took the lift up to the main reception. The reception staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly and got us booked in very quickly. Our room was up to the normal Novotel standard, spotlessly clean and well appointed with tea coffee making facilites, free toiletries, tv safe etc. We did not eat in the main restaurant, but did have breakfast which was very good and there was plenty to choose from including cooked items as well as pastries fruit cold meats and hams.

The hotel is in an excellent position right in the centre of Ghent. It has an outside pool surrounded by sun beds etc, it also has an outside bar for you to get a drink.

There are loads of shops, bars and restaurants all very close to the hotel. Also the hotel is right by the river so we decided to do a river cruise (cost 8 euros per person) which took about 45 minutes and it was great and we thought very good value. Ghent reminded us of Bruge but on a bigger scale!

The journey to Calais from Ghent only takes about 90minutes so it is very close if you are just going for a weekend break.

We would recommend the Novotel in Ghent as it is in such a great location and has good facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincere regards

Sven TOUNE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here with my two pugs, Steve and Ramona. It was a great location, tucked away between a main square of sorts and a shopping street that is primarily pedestrian. Very quiet despite being 100 meters away from the week long annual street festival going on when I was there. It has a pool and a decent restaurant, though not incredible by any stretch of the imagination. The room was pretty spacious and has an exterior door and an interior one that separates the bathroom and entry from the rest of the room, great to have two doors between the hall and the room if you are traveling with dogs. There is parking, though it is a pain to get to, precisely because the location is so central (and nearly 100% pedestrian; park a few blocks away in the "Reep" parking lot if driving. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Ghent.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms 401 to 404 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank grilango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour, Madame, Monsieur,

Vous avez pris le temps de répondre à notre enquête pour nous transmettre vos félicitations, et je vous en remercie.

J’ai fait part à mon équipe de vos encouragements, pour qu’elle soit consciente que leurs efforts quotidiens contribuent à répondre à vos attentes et à votre satisfaction.

Des témoignages chaleureux comme les vôtres sont nos meilleures récompenses : un grand merci à vous
A très bientôt chez Novotel.

TOUNE Sven
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is right in the city center, everything within strolling distance.

Perfect for a weekend. Save private parking, nice room, great shower, good breakfast and on hot days you can cool-down in the pool.

Gent is a perfect city for shopping, sightseeing and nightlife, visit the Belfry/Belfort, St Bavo's Cathedral, ..., ..., and finish the day at the restaurant next door Amadeus, enjoy the Spareribs à Volanté, wine and Irish coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fam_Bruijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincere regards

Sven TOUNE
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The breakfast is great, the location is central and ideal for walking around the city. Our kids had a fun time cooling off in the outdoor pool in the evenings. My only suggestion is that you not try and park your car at the hotel. The streets around the hotel are narrow in places and there are a number of one-way roads which causes heated discussions between navigator and driver. Aim to park in the nearby underground carpark, which is infact cheaper than the hotel carpark and seemed secure enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F0urW00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Gent Centrum.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Sincere regards

Sven TOUNE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel has a fabulous location and is a good Novotel-type standard. We were unlucky with the room (116) just above the service door, which means VERY noisy when the bins are taken out very early in the morning. Other than that, excellent breakfast buffet and very good service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Leo969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven T, Front Office Manager at Novotel Gent Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Good morning,


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Gent Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours

Sven TOUNE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £92 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing