We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and in the heart of Gent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Class and in the heart of Gent”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We had a lower price for a standard room since we went there in march and it is not the high season (93€).
We did not take the breakfast as we found it too expensive compared to what you can found around the center.
Conclusion: Nice hotel, very clean, large rooms and perfectly situated in the center.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    634
    184
    36
    22
See reviews for
386
428
60
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This was my first trip to Ghent and I recommend it as a brilliant option if you are doing a quick wine run to France but dont want to stay in the mostly boring and rubbish northern french towns and Cities, its just 1 1/4 hours at 130km/h from Calais. THe belgians are a nice helpful friendly bunch by and large and the service everywhere we went is very good. The hotel sits right beside one of the big cathedrals in the town centre and very close to the main shopping streets and the famous Graaslei canal side. if you come out of the entrance by the bar and turn left you go to the cathedrals,and main shopping streets. if you go right, down an alley to the Kornmarkt there is the tram stop, a bit further to a couple of nice bars by the canal. turn right at the kornmarkt and folow your nose until you arrive at another large square where they have a market and the pub with 250 beers

The hotel itself is normal Novotel with a bit more character in the bar and restaurant. Its clean and well run, the staff polite an helpful. I would opt for a mini suite for 10 Euros extra a night as you get a proper suite with sitting room and so on. We had no TV while we were there as it just wasnt working which didnt seem to phase them at all, but we arent big TV watchers so wasnt the end of the world. The shower is a bit of a shocker, quite small and low for me, because its small the curtain keeps sticking too you which nobody likes and the showerhead was quite unmanouverable. points off for that. We didnt have breakfast at 18 euros each and we prefer to eat out anyway so went across the square to a lovely little breakfast cafe.

Worth noting for you anti smokers, (I dont smoke anymore either) that Belgium hasnt banned smoking indoors yet and everyone in Belgium seems to smoke. Inside the pubs its like the good old days, hazy and stinking. if you dont like it then give the whole country a miss. That would be a shame though as Ghent is a genuinely beautiful place for a good easy weekend break from the UK, just an hour and a half from the chunnel to the hotel. Much less crowded and touristy than Brugge. Its easy to walk around the historic centre. To find the hotel you just follow the signs to the centrum and once you get near there are road signs directing you to the various Hotels, we found it easily with no map and no satnav. Get stuck into the Belgian beers but not too many as they are pretty strong. Try Tripel Karmaleit blonde or the wonderfully named Delerium Tremems which makes your eyes go a bit funny. Belgium seems a bit expensive these days if converting from Pounds but thats not their fault. The food most places is fantastic and the people make you feel very welcome,. Throughly recommend Ghent for a weekend and Novotel Ghent Centrum for a hotel to stay in

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We had a great stay at the Novotel. 9 of us were staying here to celebrate a family birthday and it was our first hotel stay with our 10 month old daughter. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful for us and were very friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and although a bit expensive the food was excellent. The location of this hotel is great as right in the city centre and you are within minutes of all the sights and shops.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This was our first time at the Novotel and we were very pleased with the experience. Very pleasant helpful staff, everywhere was clean and the breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice. There is an outside swimming pool, obviously not open on our visit, but look forward to using it on our next visit. We have visited Ghent many times and it never ceases to delight us. The people everywhere are lovely. Lots of really good restauarants and the standard of food is very good indeed. We always visit the Neptune restaurant which is family owned, it is fairly small but the food is excellent. Christmas is a particularly nice time to visit as there is a Christmas market there. There are two cathedrals and in the crypt of St Baafs there are medieval painting on the walls. We hope to move there one day which says it all.

  • Liked — Central position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We have just stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. There were 28 of us in total and we were of mixed ages and all couples.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right in the middle of things and at this time of year it has the christmas markets and open air ice rink literally outside the front door - well 20 yards away if you want to be picky.

The hotel reception is very bright and modern and the rooms were very clean with lots of space. A slight downside is that our room had a seperate w/c to the bathroom - although this didn't cause us a problem and was more than made up for by the remainder of the hotel facilities which are great. Breakfast at the hotel is a mixture of continental and the good old English bacon, sausage, etc, so something for all tastes.

If you want to see a town that is not as busy as Bruges but with stunning buildings, restaurants, bars, beer houses then Ghent is the place - to have three cathedral like buildings, canals, a castle and waterside bars. etc, is simply stunning. At the time we went the Belfry tower was chiming out Christmas Carols which added to the already magical Christmas feel.

If you like speciality beers then there are plenty to be had. I did some research on the net before we went and I found a small beer pub called the Dulle Griet or Dulle de Griet. It is superb, bar tenders with aprons on who wont let you get to the bar, no standing allowed, you sit round big old barrels which easily seat 10 people. The bar tenders bring the beer to you and dont present you with the bill till you leave. Very reasonably priced and great beers - look for it on the net and try it!

Just to finish, we have also previously stayed at the Ibis Hotel which is also central, and very good value if you know what Ibis's are about. We called in for a drink and it has just undergone renovation so it isa now very modern.

To sum up, great for a weekend break - any time of year, but probably best in summer or when the Christmas markets are there from the second weeend in December onwards.

  • Liked — Quality accomodation and very clean
  • Disliked — The toilet/bathroom arrangment
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamboroughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We stayed for 12 nights in May, securing an incredible 79.50 Euro/night bed and breakfast rate as part of the Novotel Citybreaks for the entire stay. We visit Ghent for holidays on a regular basis to visit family and so far this has been our best accommodation by far. When our son was younger we stayed in so-called self catering places which were supposed to provide cooking facilities and more space. Both places we stayed at (Verlaet and Puerto Patershol) offered no laundry service, no cleaning, no change of sheets and charged more than 100 Euro/night. This family-oriented Novotel was a wonderful change from our previous experiences: in the middle of the centre of Ghent with several tram stops around; a quiet spacious room with a view of a wonderful courtyard and the Sint Niklaaskerk; very clean linen and bathroom; friendly staff; a great spread for break fast every day. It was a pity that a pool was just a little bit too cold because it looked very attractive indeed. We will return.

  • Liked — Friendliness and location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We spent the Easter weekend in this Novotel property. We made an advanced purchase booking for 85 Euros per night including breakfast which was very good value indeed. The hotel was difficult to find in the dark by car but the helpful emailed directions from Gunther at reception enabled us to find and park at Parking P1. This car park is very near the hotel, very clean safe and secure & 5 euros cheaper per day than the hotel car park (if we could have found it). This Novotel is completely different from the standard Novotel appearance having been integrated into some old historical buildings in the very centre of Ghent. On arrival we were greeted by a very unpleasant smell. There had clearly been some kind of mishap and by the next morning it was clear that the carpet where the problem was had been replaced. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The standard room on the 2nd floor was of a good standard and looked recently refurbished. The shower in particular was excellent (a ‘walk in’ shower). Breakfast was very good with very good local produce as well as warm bacon, eggs and sausages. The service was efficient. The hotel is very well situated for both shopping and sightseeing in this beautiful city. There are also many good restaurants in the vicinity. For example opposite the rear entrance of the hotel on the Hoogpoort is an excellent ‘home cooking’ restaurant. The proximity of restaurants and bars does however mean that there can be a lot of noise in the street especially on Saturday night. However, the windows were well sealed and this reduced the noise to acceptable levels. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in Ghent.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Property: Novotel Gent Centrum
Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing