We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Gent Centrum
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hot room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The hotel is ideally located. During our stay, it was very warm and the room got stuffy and hot. The ventilation system did not change anything about the heat.

The frontdesk staff were very nice and friendly.

The room was not very clean (crumbs in minibar, dirty cups).

I you want to have a lie-in, hang the do not disturb on the door... We got woken up twice between 08:30 and 09:15 by housekeeping....

And do not pay for the wifi... It is free down the street in the HEMA coffee bar and Foodmaker :o)

The swimming pool is great for relaxing after a long hot day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionlyexpectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    621
    182
    36
    20
See reviews for
381
419
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

The hotel is fine but the southern European gentleman on the front-desk couldn't find my reservation despite me spelling out my name several times, and then after 10 mins, a call to the office, and finding the booking details, there was no apology seemed but a Fawlty Towers-like exchange where he blamed me for for mispronouncing my own name (despite it being spelt out for him more than once). Learn to work the computer and improve your English sunshine !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Modern, comfortable, well organised, and next to the main historic sites, what else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

We were part of a large group staying at hotel for the International Baton Championships. We had a large bedroom with side room with balcony on the top floor. Beautiful view of the local churches and a little square. In spite of being with large group using a lot of rooms we felt like family the whole time. All of the staff were helpful with both sightseeing info as well as how to get there info. They even printed out trainschedules so we didn't have to return to train station. Would go back there in a second if we were staying in Gent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foytaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

Had a suite, bed was firm, room large, loved the shower, and had big windows that opened onto the old town, close to a grocery store also.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

If you are on a sightseeing visit to Gent, this could be just the place you need. Central, within walking distance of all the main sights, canals and surrounded by plenty of bars and restaurants. Our room overlooked the pool and courtyard was a good size and spotlessly clean. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but had breakfast which offered a good selection of juices, cereals, breads, cold meats and a cooked buffet of sausages, bacon, beans and scrambled eggs plus tea and coffee.

Also liked that you had to use your room key/card when using the lifts as this would deter non guests going upstairs.

Would certainly return.

Secure underground parking is available at a cost of 16 euros per day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Dirty and Dated is how I describe this hotel. Rooms are very small , filthy and inconveinent. It is in a prime location in the Centrum area but very noisy. Church bells and pedestrians make it impossible to sleep night and day. The staff was a bit indifferent and unknowledgeable. I felt lied to a few times, and as if they couldnt wait for me to leave!
On the plus side they had a great continental breakfast and the fastest elevator I have ever seen in any hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchaserChicago_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gent Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gent Centrum

Property: Novotel Gent Centrum
Address: Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gent Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gent Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel Ghent
Novotel Hotel Ghent
Novotel Ghent
Ghent Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing