We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel turned out to be better than expected. The location was in the centre of Gent, opposite the town hall and the oldest hotel in Gent.
When we were booking in we were asked if we were light sleepers, to which we replied yes. As there was the annual festival taking place, reception was concerned that we may be disturbed by the noise and was given a free upgrade to a junior suite. The furniture in the room was of a high standard and the bed very comfortable. The room were breakfast is served is capacious, with the cold food down the middle of the room, two rows of tables either side and the hot food against the outer walls.
I am of the opinion that all age groups will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    882
    201
    43
    24
See reviews for
232
975
60
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

LOVED:

-the bed (best sleep I had in a long time)
-the amazingly helpful Front Desk staff
-the location. This hotel is right smack in the middle of the Historical Center of Ghent; so all tourist spots are within walking distance.

CAN BE IMPROVED:
-Breakfast buffet. (Is it too much to change it up from time to time? I stayed for a week and I got tired of the breakfast spread by the 3rd day).
-why is Wi-Fi not free? Very, very important for business travelers. (10.90 Euros for a whole day access)
-No free bottled water? This should be complimentary to guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I would not spend the $$ on the breakfast, and the internet was quite pricey, but the we stayed in an executive 1st floor room and it was perfect. The bathroom was well appointed with a large bathtub, and separate WC. I very much enjoyed the Nespresso machine in our room. The view was pretty awful, but we looked beyond that, as we thought Ghent was beautiful enough on its own. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Great location in the center of Gent. Clean, spacious rooms; basic service though: no free wi-fi in the rooms; free wi-fi in the hotel lobby didn't do it either.
Wonderful breakfast, but the staff wasn't really on top of things: upon arrival in the dining room we asked for a new table cloth, as it was full of food and drink stains from the previous party; the waiter told us not to look at the stains ;-)...Remember Fawlty Towers?
Nothing to be totally dissatisfied with, but you do notice this is part of a big hotel chain, with all its pros and cons associated with it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Alamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in a standard room. The lobby is nice, elevators, hallways, even the doors are new. But when you enter the room, you realize that standard room means not renovated. Old furniture, bad carpet, outdated design and more importantly a window that overlooks an alley. My friends who stayed in renovated rooms had. Good experience, but I can not say the same. It is so weird that they still have these outdated rooms and call them standard rooms. My efforts in upgrading also did not work since it was a busy period. Never ever stay in this hotel if they give you a standard room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleanline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in one of the Executive Suite rooms, having looked at three other hotels first. This was the best of the bunch, and we got it at a great price -- 280 Euros for two nights, due to a special weekend rate which included breakfast and a late checkout. Location can't be beat. Big room with a king-size super-comfortable bed, large windows overlooking rooftops, couch/coffee table, large bathroom with a deep tub and separate shower, walk-in closet with safe. Quiet. Peaceful. Enjoyed the sauna. Wonderful hotel. Totally recommend. (Breakfast was good, but not amazing, but since it was included in the discounted weekend rate I'm not complaining.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freshairfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel is what you would expect from a NH hotel: modern, clean and not too expensive. What makes this hotel great is its location, right in the middle of Ghent and only a stones throw away from great restaurants, amazing monuments etc.
For a mere €15 I could upgrade the room, which I did and we were moved to a bigger room with great bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again when visiting Ghent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing