We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was a great hotel for our few days in Gent. The location is right in the center of Gent. Hotel rooms very very clean and comfortable, the room was very modern but had the most old fashioned useless hairdryer, would advise taking your own if staying here. Both reception and bar staff very helpful. Breakfast during the week was excellent but come the weekend very hectic, not enough tables to accommodate everyone, although there is a note at reception advising that breakfast should be taken before 9.30am at weekend to avoid waiting. Would definitely stay again if returning to Gent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    900
    204
    44
    24
See reviews for
237
994
60
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hotel is located in the citycentre, close to all the main attractions. The rooms are very big, The standard room had the size of a family room. The rooms are cosy and had some nice decorations. There is a parking under the hotel. When you arrive, you can upgrade your room to a luxery room, it cost 25 euro i think.
Ask for a room on a high floor, because it's sometimes noisy during the night.
The hotel is just renovated, so everything looks very new!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel which is well situated for site seeing in Ghent. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the hotel but enjoyed a drink at the bar where again the staff were excellent.. We would definately stay at the Belfort again,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed a long weekend in this hotel and loved it. It lies direct in the center of Ghent with everything on a short walking distance. The rooms were spacious and very clean. By the look of it, the hotel was renovated a few years ago. The rooms were very well isolated so you had absolutely no noise from outside or neighbor rooms.

We had one meal in the hotel restaurant and it was very very good.

Very good value for money.

If I had to make a remark it would be: why no free WiFi everywhere? But that goes for a lot of other hotels too. And there was free WiFi in the areas around the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We spent 3 nights in the Belfort during the snow. It is very well situated, right in the heart of the city, near the Cathedral and very close to shopping areas and restaurants. The hotel was warm, the delux bedroom spacious, nicely furnished with sofa, coffee table, etc. and the bed was very comfortable. We slept very well indeed. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, and the scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection, which is seldom the case. A good test of the catering.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra for a delux room though I didn't see the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel turned out to be better than expected. The location was in the centre of Gent, opposite the town hall and the oldest hotel in Gent.
When we were booking in we were asked if we were light sleepers, to which we replied yes. As there was the annual festival taking place, reception was concerned that we may be disturbed by the noise and was given a free upgrade to a junior suite. The furniture in the room was of a high standard and the bed very comfortable. The room were breakfast is served is capacious, with the cold food down the middle of the room, two rows of tables either side and the hot food against the outer walls.
I am of the opinion that all age groups will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

LOVED:

-the bed (best sleep I had in a long time)
-the amazingly helpful Front Desk staff
-the location. This hotel is right smack in the middle of the Historical Center of Ghent; so all tourist spots are within walking distance.

CAN BE IMPROVED:
-Breakfast buffet. (Is it too much to change it up from time to time? I stayed for a week and I got tired of the breakfast spread by the 3rd day).
-why is Wi-Fi not free? Very, very important for business travelers. (10.90 Euros for a whole day access)
-No free bottled water? This should be complimentary to guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, NHHotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing