We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good quality business hotel right in the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good quality business hotel right in the centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

A very comfortable hotel in a perfect location for a tourist - a matter of a few steps away from the Belfort and only a few minutes walk from everything else. Huge underground car park albeit at a price. Our room was quite large on the corner of the hotel overlooking the Stadhuis which was an improvement on the view from most hotels I've stayed in. Being a business hotel they like to charge extra for everything and not just a little bit extra either - 21 Euro EACH for breakfast, 15 Euro per day for the car park and they even charge for wi-fi. Remarkably nobody on reception knew where the Pakhuis restaurant was yet it's only 400 metres away. And, if you use the car park, after they've relieved you of an extortionate amount of cash make sure they give you a token to exit the car park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horacethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    900
    203
    44
    24
See reviews for
237
994
60
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel just for 2 nights for business, but I have got the good impession.
The best poin is probably the location, as you cannot get any better then this, all history is just arround the conner.

The hotel is very big itself with a big breakfast room, I think they have a restaurant for dinners as well. The number of room is pretty high, so when I first was out of my room, I could not find my way out first seconds (it doe not happen to me normally). They have signs which way to go, but they were far from my room, so could not decided if I should go left or right.

The rooms are big and spacy. I had a superior and the design have had some interesting touches. The staff in the hotel is pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just left the NH Belfort after 4 lovely days in Gent and surrounding area. I struggle to find anything wrong with the hotel. I managed to get a great deal on a Deluxe room so huge bed, in huge room with huge bathroom. Stunning. The room was so big that the TV was almost impossible to see from bed!

The only faults (unlike the room they're not huge) was a slight delay at check-in due to a room mix up and for some reason a reluctance by house-keeping to leave coffee for the in-room machine. Other than that top marks. Staff friendly, particularly bar staff, so a great place to unwind with a beer before lights out.

Gent itself is a charming city, and though we used it as a base to explore the surrounding area I'd be doing the place a disservice if I didn't say it was the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Room 159!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A great and modern hotel downtown.
Short walk to every major site.
Good room with a superb comfortable bed.
Excellent breakfast.
The city itself is like Prague, Budabest, Amsterdam and Venetzia mini-sized :)
Only minus of the hotel: wi-fi was complimentary only in the lobby area.

Room Tip: It's in a quiet area so any room should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Pond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a Junior Suite, as the standard rooms were all booked out. However, the extra in price was worth it. The room was much larger than a standard room, it sported a living area with couch, two sinks in the large bathroom and a separate 'changing' room with cabinets and room for the baggage and as a special plus it was equipped with a Nespresso machine.

Pro (applies to Junior Suite):
- large room
- excellent cleaniness
- good beds
- sitting area with sofa
- good bathroom with two sinks, tub and separate shower
- large changing room
- in room nespresso machine (in room waterkettle in standard rooms)
- excellent location in the very center of Gent, located in a historical building
- stylish design of rooms and lobby
- free access to fitness center
- free sauna
- good breakfast, but heavily overpriced if not included in rate (ca. 25 € per person/night)

Con:
- expensive internet
- expensive breakfast

After several business trips to Gent with stays in other places, the NH remains my favourite. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Another good value hotel operated by NH. The hotel is easy to find, and has very convenient indoor underground parking which is not the cheapest at €15 per night but is very safe and secure.

The rooms are a little small and the pillows uncomfortable, but the room was modern and very clean. The hotel staff are ery friendly, the bar offers a wide range of beers and the waitress although very new was friendly and knowledgable.

The location of the hotel is great with all the central attractions and restaurants of Gent within 2 minutes walk. Wifi was €9 per day but was fast enough.

The breakfast was excellent, although I did feel more of a umber than a guest whilst at breakfast.


This was my 4th stay and I expect i'll stay again shortly.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very nice, clean and modern Hotel missing free WIFI throughout as only availabe in the reception area ! Very good breakfast, great rooms and good staff. Heart of the historic city centre within walking distance to a good selection of Restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, NHHotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing