We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location in a great city”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location in a great city”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our weekend break at the hotel which is ideally located in the historic centre of Ghent which is a couple of miles from the main railway station. The journey from the station is easy and straightforward by using the No.1 tram which runs frequently and has a stop a few minutes walk from the hotel.
Our room was large, very comfortable, clean and well equipped. All of the hotel staff who we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The hotel's public areas are spacious and the lobby is comfortable and welcoming. At 15€/21€ (weekend/weekday) the breakfasts are not particularly cheap although provide a good choice of food and drinks. Breakfast is taken in a large dining room that would benefit from a bit of a makeover and redecoration. Our only other criticism is the lack of free WiFi access in the bedrooms. Free WiFi access is available only in the hotel's lobby for 30 minutes at a time. Otherwise we were very impressed with the hotel and its facilities and would very happily recommend it for a short break.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your stay.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will take up your comment about the redecoration of our large dining room to improve even more on the quality of your stay.
We hope to welcome you again whenever your travel again to Ghent.

kind regards
Jurgen Doise
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    937
    210
    45
    25
See reviews for
248
1,033
64
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it is just in the centre of the town, and can be easily reached from the train station by tram n. 1 (10 minutes). Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was far from luxory but still practical. Wfi was available for free only in the lobby (connecton was not very good).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Borto_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
dear guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. We are pleased that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you again in NH Gent Belfort whenever you plan a next trip to this wonderful city.
Kind regards

Jurgen Doise,
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently booked a 4 night stay at the NH Hotel Belfort and had a fantastic stay. The hotel was really good in every way, the rooms were big enough to be able to relax in, the beds were comfortable and there was a great choice of pillows available for those who are a little more delicate, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the en-suite bathrooms were also modern and very clean and tidy and displayed no evidence of fatigue. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was really good, my only slight gripe was the extra charge for a fried egg of 3 euro – scrambled egg and boiled egg were available for free however.
We did look at the Trip Adviser reviews to select this particular hotel and examined the local area on Google maps before we went and our research came up trumps. The Hotel is in a great location to see the very quaint town and within easy walking distance of all interesting places to see. We parked the car up and never used it all week despite visiting Brugge and Brussels. Public transport is cheap and very easy to use.
I have not stayed in any other hotel in Ghent, but this was a super choice and we could not fault it. I was surprised by the city, what a great place to visit, better than Brugge in my opinion, it’s like a really nice clean and tidy more quiet version of Amsterdam without all of the tacky bits and tourists, the quaint bars offer a vast range of Belgium beers and have a comfortable atmosphere. Try the ‘Dulle Griet’ bar which has over 250 different beers including the famous 'Trappistenbieren'(very strong stuff).

Thank you NH Hotel Belfort for making our first stay in Belgium so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All seemed good, the area is quiet on a night but I only stayed in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for having chosen the NH GENT BELFORT hotel for your trip to Gent. It is always nice to hear that you've enjoyed your visit to our wonderful city and the stay in our hotel apart from the inconvenience during breakfast. But I am proud to announce that, as from the summer we will introduce our new Anti-Ox breakfast. This is a very healthy breakfast where you can also choose your own ingredients and the egg of your choice will be made freshly by our cooks. I am looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Jurgen Doise - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

great stay! good food! Friendly staff! Ideal location

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deinzenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a typical 4* business hotel: fairly spacious rooms, wifi and breakfast charges that assume that you are on an expense account.

However it has one (very important) thing going for it for casual travelers: it's located less than a minute away from the very center of historic Ghent. In fact, from the bow window of our hotel room, we were looking directly at the Belfry less than one hundred feet away. Incredible!

The room itself was specious, as I mentioned. However the shower, the electric coffee pot and some of the artwork on the walls were beginning to show some wear.

PS: The giant bowl of candy at reception is a nice touch in case you somehow fail to sample Belgian chocolate elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows along Belfortstraat will have a view of the belfry. Room 238 (and possibly ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gewurztraminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in Gent for the Easter weekend and were very impressed with this hotel. The recption staff, and indeed all of the staff, are incredibly helpful and the rooms were very good.
The location is great, walking distance to everything but not disturbed by the noise from any of the nearby bars and restaurants.
However in many respects the highlight was the bed!! It was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and the piloows were great too. The room was a little hot at night but we slept superbly due to the beds being so comfortable.
The slight down side is the cost of incidentals - breakfast was expensive, the water in the mini bar cost far too much and the need to pay for wi-fi, other than the free 30 minutes in the lounge, is annoying.
But all of these are minor issues, which may be easily overcome, relative to the advantages of the hotel - which even had a pretty impressive exhibition of paintings in a corridor just off the lobby. If you are going to Gent I would recommend staying at this hotel which is suitable for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel's in a very handy location for walking to the sights. A small confusion about the in-room espresso machine (a great touch btw) was solved quickly by the helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0bgimmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing