We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive room with nespresso machine”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We decided to book 2 executive rooms, as the price difference at the end was not so much. Glad we did, the room is spacious and the nespresso machine is definitely an added bonus. Not sure how it works with the minibar, I read on TA that the mini bar is free, except for the refills. Nobody told us at check in about the mini bar, and at check out they asked if we had used the mini bar. The room was clean but didn't have the modern look like the superior rooms. The fabrics look a bit dull. The bathroom had been updated though, very nice.
There is good pressure in the shower, and the shower is spacious, which you not often find in bigger hotels.
Breakfast was very good, large selection, although the breakfast room had the feeling of a cantine. The second morning, we were able to sit outside in the courtyard which was much nicer.
The late check-out on Sunday was great as well, as we could go to the centre for more shopping as most of the shops only opened at 12.
Very conveniently located in the heart of Gent. We had difficulties finding it as there are a lot of one-way roads and closed roads for public transport only.

Room Tip: Executive room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
There are newer reviews for NH Gent Belfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and placed close to all of Gent's sights. The hotel offers wireless internet for about 9 euro pr. 24h which is plain robbery for a service that ought to be free at any decent hotel. Nice breakfast buffet,allthough this is also extremely expensive (21 euros on weekdays.

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood but the hallways are extremely loud so if you're sensitive to noise other guests will keep you awake half the night.

Big rooms with all the facilities you need. Nice big beds, satelite tv with english-speaking channels, bathtub etc.

Staff speaks very good english, so no problem communicating with them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This Hotel ,is fantastic location ,food,staff friendly and helpfull so clean and everything here just ask and you will get ,evan pillows to your needs for neck or a total chill ,when you are living in a city and come back this Hotel is a total chill out zone even the corridors you can hear a pin drop so quiet and if you lie in its ok they will come and fix and clean your room later ,such a first class hotel anyone who does not enjoy this hotel has a problem and should stay at home

Room Tip: just ask if your not happy with the room but all the rooms are fab maybe some have no veiw but you h...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kebo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I got a voucher for my birthday from my boyfriend for a weekend in any NH hotel in Europe. After some research I chose the NH in Gent. This was over a year ago, but I still want to say, that this is an excellent hotel for a city escape. We had a relaxing stay, and a great time in the lovely city. The small city of Gent is gorgeous, and at the Belfort you are situated right in the centre of the town. We also had an amazing view over the city. Our room was also very clean and comfortable.
Sunday was teh day we left, but the city was dead and all the shops were closed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinLin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The rooms are what you could expect for a hotel chain like NH. It felt as if they remodeled the rooms but the bathroom still have a old feel to it ( for instance very old hairdryer on the wall and grouting of the tiles painted.
But all and all a nice hotel in the middle of centre with a parking under the hotel.
We had a great bargain and old paid eur 80 on a weekend overnight.
Ony thing was that we had the window open and we were swamped by mosquitos ( I killed 6 in the middle of the night) but the beds are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbAmsteram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

First impressions were good, having booked a de luxe room we had no complaints about the size of room or quality of fittings.
The main problem was lack of interest by the staff. Having asked for a missing coffee maker to be replaced while we were out nothing had happened on our return and reception had no knowledge of our request. In the morning reception were unaware of the upcoming jazz festival which was starting the following week.
On my return I e mailed my complaint about the missing coffee machine I am still waiting for a response a month later.
If service is important to you don't stay here

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Good
1. Double room was very big with a separate sitting area two tvs, nice dressing area, reading chair etc very nicely done
2. Breakfast was excellent, do take along with the room, very decently priced
3. Very nice bar, nice drinks and great bar tender
4. Excellent location, you are the city center !
5. They rent out bicycles and it can be parked overnight in the hotel basement parking
6. Service, check in and staff was very professional, good business center
7. One of my friends left something in their room and they were very nice to even try and arrange to get that to them.

The Bad
1. Very weird and painful but the lobby internet requires a new login to be taken every 30 mins. The internet in the room has to be purchased and cant be used on more than one device.I would think a hotel of this standard would take care of all this

The Ugly
1. Not their mistake but there was construction going on right outside and around the hotel and the historic center, there is noise, there was dust and there is ofcourse no view left from the rooms. But hopefully that would get over soon, most of Ghent looked under renovation

Room Tip: Double room, do take the breakfast with the room and if no construction the view of the historic cen...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharuChandna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £88 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing