We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel excellent loacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel excellent loacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I and my wife spent in Ghent a few days. We very enjoyed the hotel, its beautiful and clean design, the very good breakfast, and excellent location. Free Wifi, and accessible car parking.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icohen555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    882
    201
    43
    24
See reviews for
232
975
60
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I spent 3 days/2 nights at this hotel recently while on a work trip. It is slap bang in the centre of the city and is within easy walking distance of bars, restaurants and shops.

The room I had was a good size and nice and clean. The only downside was a smell that I can put down to smoking despite the desk sign saying 'no smoking'. I suspect that it has been a smoking room in the past backed up by some of my colleagues commenting on a similar smell in their rooms.

Breakfast is a self service affair with a rather nifty gadget for making waffles available. The coffee, however, is awful and the machine it comes out of way too complicated for this befuddled brain to work out how to use early in the morning!

The bar is nice although somewhat slow on the service side, but the staff are friendly. There is a nice bar just across from the hotel which is much cheaper anyway!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here with my family during a family reunion, and I was very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious, and styled nicely. Free Wifi and an AMAZING breakfast buffet. The location is close to everything in Ghent - would highly recommend to anyone.

One other thing: the staff is incredible. I had developed a bit of a cough during my stay (Ghent was chilly when I was there), and not once, but TWICE, a front desk agent offered me a lozenge for my throat - once while we were asking a question, another time when I was sitting in the lobby reading (meaning the agent had to leave his post to come offer me the drop!). Two different people, two different occurrences - kudos to the staff at this hotel for taking good care of their guests! Every other interaction with them was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was easily one of my best hotel experiences. I had a regular booking for a "double" room, and it was huge. It had a full bathroom with tub and shower, couches, two tables and chairs, a long desk, king bed, massive bay windows that opened to an amazing view of the city hall and courtyard, fridge, safe, coffee amenities. Service was friendly, and breakfast was extraordinary -- a huge selection of familiar items and plenty of more European choices to try (cheeses, chocolate sprinkles, breads, etc.). Considering the location I did not find the rate to be expensive.

Finally - others mention having to pay for wireless internet. The basic wireless internet is free; you just have to ask for a password at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel is very funky and modern and the rooms comfortable. The hotel is very well situated within a few minutes' walk of all major sights. There is a large and easily accessible private car park, a real blessing as I can't imagine where one could park in this old town of narrow streets. Breakfast was good. We were there on the last night of the Olympics and tried to watch the ceremony on the TV in our room. The TV was very small and both sound and picture quality were poor. Otherwise I have no complaints about the hotel which was more than adequate for our needs, if a bit soulless.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We decided to book 2 executive rooms, as the price difference at the end was not so much. Glad we did, the room is spacious and the nespresso machine is definitely an added bonus. Not sure how it works with the minibar, I read on TA that the mini bar is free, except for the refills. Nobody told us at check in about the mini bar, and at check out they asked if we had used the mini bar. The room was clean but didn't have the modern look like the superior rooms. The fabrics look a bit dull. The bathroom had been updated though, very nice.
There is good pressure in the shower, and the shower is spacious, which you not often find in bigger hotels.
Breakfast was very good, large selection, although the breakfast room had the feeling of a cantine. The second morning, we were able to sit outside in the courtyard which was much nicer.
The late check-out on Sunday was great as well, as we could go to the centre for more shopping as most of the shops only opened at 12.
Very conveniently located in the heart of Gent. We had difficulties finding it as there are a lot of one-way roads and closed roads for public transport only.

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRR-FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and placed close to all of Gent's sights. The hotel offers wireless internet for about 9 euro pr. 24h which is plain robbery for a service that ought to be free at any decent hotel. Nice breakfast buffet,allthough this is also extremely expensive (21 euros on weekdays.

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood but the hallways are extremely loud so if you're sensitive to noise other guests will keep you awake half the night.

Big rooms with all the facilities you need. Nice big beds, satelite tv with english-speaking channels, bathtub etc.

Staff speaks very good english, so no problem communicating with them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing