We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Gent Belfort
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,382)
Filter reviews
2,382 results
Traveller rating
1,016
1,036
239
63
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,016
1,036
239
63
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsuperior roomcity hallwalk in wardrobeexcellent hotelcentral locationfree wifiunderground parkingbreakfast buffetper dayan upgradecomfortable bedshort walkold townwithin easy walking distancelarge roommodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 2,382 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

There's nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just your standard city centre hotel that largely caters for the business market. The reception staff were courteous and helpful. The room was a reasonable size with a huge double bed. It probably just needs a bit of a refurbishment. It's not that it's dirty or falling apart, it's just a bit dated.

The big plus for the hotel is it's location. Walk out the door and you are in the heart of the city, very close to the tourist sites and the huge number of bars and restaurants that Gent has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Right in the heart of the old town, the hotel is brilliantly located for Ghent's relatively small historical area and small collection of sights. Inside, the welcome is very pleasant and the staff are courteous and helpful, but the hotel itself is a bit dated and showing its age. The rooms are big, perhaps too big because they are quite sparsely furnished and echo a bit. The one we had bears no relation to the photos on the corporate website, and was instead a bit shabby and tired. Similarly, the bathroom is fine - spotlessly clean - but not luxurious; in fact, rather utilitarian with its green and white colouring.

There's a great selection of things for breakfast (include make your own Belgian waffles) but all a bit ho-hum; the bar is good (and reasonably priced for a hotel bar) but again, nothing special. The late check out on a Sunday is particularly good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swchairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good location in the centre of the old town, Nice breakfast buffet and the wi fi worked well. Otherwise this hotel is nothing special. The room was a bit dark as there was no overhead light and it needed refurbishment (peeling wall paper). Staff at reception were pleasant and helpful. Fine for a short stay but not a luxury holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

One night stay. Polite and easy check in and first impressions of reaction areas good. larger than average bedroom which was spotless and a welcome variation in colours away from the bog-standard hotel chains. Breakfast is pricey at 25 Euros (once tax has been added) - the choice is good but room is big and busy which is a little lively for first thing. Some issues on check out with inaccurate charges related to said breakfasts but not to the extent that it outbalanced the quality of the accommodation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LJGscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location just behind the Belfort. Walking distance to just about everywhere you might need to go in Gent. We were offered the option of upgrading to a superior room (at the cost of €50 for 4 nights) but when I asked what extra we'd get I was told it was a bigger room, slippers and a gown. As we were planning on using the room mainly for sleeping we declined this offer. The room itself was fine - the bed was huge and comfortable and a good night's sleep, although the A/C unit was very noisy. We stayed in a room overlooking an internal courtyard so there was no real noise. The shower was OK but needs more water pressure for it to be great.

The two main downsides are the breakfast and wifi provision - €21 per person for breakfast was, we decided, way too much (as was the €285 rack rate for the room, although we paid considerably less than this through Expedia). There are plenty of great cafes in Gent and we got breakfast at one of these each day for a very reasonable €9 per person.

The wifi was shocking. You need to log in with a new access code each day, it is unreliable and limits the amount of use. I had forgotten to disable automatic app updates on my phone so two updates completed overnight whilst I was asleep using the full data allowance for the day, without having to pay €6.60 to access the superfast "premium" service. A decent wifi connection, included in the cost of a hotel of this standard is the minimum I would expect - cheaper, independent hotels can offer it so I would expect a multinational chain such as NH to do the same.

These are our reasons for giving the hotel an average rating rather than very good.

Room Tip: All are ok - no street noise as such though rooms to the rear of the hotel face onto the busiest road in the area.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews