We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a great location”
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great hotel nearby all the city attractions. Extremely comfortable beds (What is their secret?!). Excellent service and hotel amenities. A good hotel bar with both tourists and business travelers. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brasoygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
There are newer reviews for NH Gent Belfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

You could not pick a better location for a stay in Ghent: two minutes' stroll from the Belfort itself, and a short walk from the Graslei and Korenlei, the Gravensteen Castle, Patershol etc. There are cafés, bars, restaurants and interesting shops nearby. The hotel itself is fine, the beds are comfortable and the rooms pleasant, though the corridors could do with new wallpaper. Don't bother with breakfast in the hotel unless you get a very good deal as there are plenty of places nearby serving really good fresh croissants, coffee, orange juice etc for a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flintmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for few days and all I can say is we love to come back again.. We upgraded for our room and it is what we expect.. Over all it was a pleasant stay..Great location, clean and good service. We will surely be coming again..

Room Tip: Suite room is perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalinga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was lucky to have a weekend to spend in Ghent after a week at a festival in Hasselt, Belgium staying at a Holiday Inn Express. While there was nothing wrong with the HIE, it was so nice to have more room, a large, comfortable bed, full sized bathroom and tub/shower. It's ideally situated within steps to the historical centre of town - which includes many great restaurants, cafes and other great places to hang out and enjoy life.

One very late night so missed breakfast and then one very early morning heading to Brussels airport for an early flight so missed that breakfast so no recommendations available there. Saint Pieter Train Station is a short taxi ride away (15 minutes - about 10 Euros during the early morning - no traffic).

Otherwise I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great location of the hotel - in the center of the city.
Very well trained staff, good speed and attention of staff on each request.
Bed in standard room was uncomfortable, could be improved.
Breakfast variety was not good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank AnnaKo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

There's nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just your standard city centre hotel that largely caters for the business market. The reception staff were courteous and helpful. The room was a reasonable size with a huge double bed. It probably just needs a bit of a refurbishment. It's not that it's dirty or falling apart, it's just a bit dated.

The big plus for the hotel is it's location. Walk out the door and you are in the heart of the city, very close to the tourist sites and the huge number of bars and restaurants that Gent has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Right in the heart of the old town, the hotel is brilliantly located for Ghent's relatively small historical area and small collection of sights. Inside, the welcome is very pleasant and the staff are courteous and helpful, but the hotel itself is a bit dated and showing its age. The rooms are big, perhaps too big because they are quite sparsely furnished and echo a bit. The one we had bears no relation to the photos on the corporate website, and was instead a bit shabby and tired. Similarly, the bathroom is fine - spotlessly clean - but not luxurious; in fact, rather utilitarian with its green and white colouring.

There's a great selection of things for breakfast (include make your own Belgian waffles) but all a bit ho-hum; the bar is good (and reasonably priced for a hotel bar) but again, nothing special. The late check out on a Sunday is particularly good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swchairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: £88 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the wealth it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing