We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and great bed....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reading
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great location and great bed....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel to be in an excellent location - very close to all the tourist attractions. Bed was very comfortable. I had visited ghent with my husband and another couple consequently we had two rooms both of with had'nt been refurbished but were in good decorative order so we did'nt feel the need to upgrade. Breakfast was very good although not included in our room rate (15 euros pp). But there again we booked through last minute.com and only paid 78 euros for 2 nights so very good value. One room was larger than the other but the smaller one was of a good size. We did have a walk in wardrobe, a bit narrow but still plenty of hanging space. Unlike other reviews we had tea and coffee making facilities which were replenshed each day. We stayed in room 321 which had a great view of the town hall opposite. Weddings take place Fridays and Saturdays and proved to be a great people watching experience. Anyway great hotel and location, would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    882
    201
    43
    24
See reviews for
232
975
60
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We made the booking on booking.com and got a fantastic rate of 135 euros for 2 nights including breakfast (standard room).

When we arrived at the hotel the weather was fairly humid and hot - I mentioned to the receptionist that I was pleased the hotel had air con - she suggested we upgrade to a deluxe room at 25 euros per room per night more as the air con was better in these rooms.

Apparently the rate we paid for the room (135 euros) meant we were to be allocated a unrefurbished room and the air con was not that great. For 10 euros more we could have booked a superior room, but apparently the air con was not that great either.

We were thrilled with the deluxe room, the room was huge, had 2 twin beds (which we requested) a separate sitting area (sofa and armchair) and a separate dressing area. The bathroom was one of the largest and best I had encountered anywhere. Double shower, huge bath and nice toiletries.

However, the air con was a let down. Despite having it on the lowest setting and being on the whole time, the room was still very warm and uncomfortable.

The rooms also had a fridge, but really did not work that well. There was also a great coffee making machine.

We had breakfast included in our rate and we found a good selection of foods which were quickly replenished.

We also used the hotel bar which we found fairly reasonably priced (5 euros for a glass of decent spanish wine).

The hotel is well situated, we got the No1 tram from the station to the Kronenmarkt and the hotel was then about a 5 minute walk. On returning to the station, we picked up the No 1 tram again outside Bennetton.

There is a supermarket near the hotel, which we would have made more use of if the room had not been so hot.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby too.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, although I may only consider staying during cooler parts of the year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and the only fault I can find is the small cups in the bedroom! Hotel is ideally situated in centre of town opposite town hall. This is about 1.6km from the station which took us about 40 minutes to walk wheeling cases. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The breakfast was fantastic - think of anything and it was there. Especially nice eating in the central courtyard. Had dinner in the hotel one evening - about 15 Euro more expensive than eating in the town, but beautiful food and excellent service. Supermarket 200m away in Hoogpoort where we bought picnic stuff for lunch. Room had every facility we needed - tea making facilities, although suggest you take extra tea bags, buy milk from supermarket and take large mugs as cups too tiny for words! Especially liked hairdryer and magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Ghent is an interesting place although seems to be undergoing a large amount of road and building work at the moment. The large car park in front to the town hall was being ripped up, the fish market is behind hoardings and not due to open until 2010 and the trams are suspended through the centre of the town. Ghent is not as picturesque as Bruges and not as interesting, but still worth a visit. St Bavos Cathedral is stunning where you can see not only a copy but the original of the polyptych The Adoration of the Mystic Lamb. Ieper (Ypres) is about an hour's train ride away via Kortrijk (cost 24 Euro) - Menin Gate is a very sombre experience, but the funfair in front of the magnificent Cloth Hall is rather vulgar.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Great central position for sightseeing in and around Ghent, with secure underground parking. Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. Rooms were spacious, modern and clean. Staff helpful. Couldn't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Ingerlund
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

When this was a Sofitel it was a lovely hotel with a nice atmosphere and staff who couldn't do enough for you. Since being taken over by NH it's become expensive, corporate and all the litle touches that lifted this above the normal chain hotel have gone. Meals, room service and bar prices have all risen sharply.

Sofitel privilege cardholders used to get free gifts, regular upgrades, complimentary drinks at the bar, mineral water in the rooms and late check outs. NH card holders get none of these. The staff either can't be bothered or else are trainees. I'd also be very wary with their taxi company. I'm a regular traveller to Ghent but I've never been on such a lengthy route to the station as the last time reception ordered me a cab - it cost twice the usual fare.

The rooms at the front of the hotel are looking dated but have nice views. Those at the rear are very good. But as with everything in this hotel now, they come at a price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

To some it up:

Location: Great, about as central as you could want.

Parking: underground and very secure(15E per day though)

Rooms: We were 4 people and 2 rooms, 1 much bigger than the other! Both still good though. Good ensuite, comfortable beds as usual, expensive minbar(dont touch it)tea/coffee making, TV etc etc - no complaints

Breakfast: We opted for inclusive(watch they dont try and charge you again though) Very good breakfast - hot and cold, continental, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, pastries etc etc - dont miss it.

As usual - very happy with NH again - good value

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

Stayed for 3 nights, originally booked in a "superior" room. The decor was minimalist, and several items listed as amenities in superior rooms were not found in our room. The modern design of the room did not offer any comfortable seating, storage, counter space, or adequate reading light. We asked to be upgraded (at an additional cost) on our 2nd night, and the difference between the rooms was staggering. However, there were still some annoyances with the executive room: inadequate reading lights, a toilet room with no sink, and sink bowls with no counter space. However, this room was overall very pleasant and functional. Given the location of the hotel and the ample breakfast buffet, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing