We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Ghent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Ghent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the NH Gent Belfort as our base of operations for a business and culture trip to various locations in Belgium. This is a large, well-run hotel apparently geared to business travelers. The good news is that the location is ideal, across from the Town Hall (sadly, closed to tourists form Oct. 1), a few steps from St. Baaf's Cathedral (with the van Eycks' Consecration of the Lamb), the Belfort and the main shopping area. The bad news is that this area will be torn up with a major urban remodeling project for the next several years and that the #1 tram has stopped running between the area and the main train station (Sint Pieters). But it remains a centrally located and ideal base from which to explore this wonderful city on foot. Our room was large, including the bathroom, and very comfortable. Reception staff were multi-lingual, very helpful and knowledgeable. We appreciated how they sprang into action when we left some clothing articles behind and needed to have them shipped to our next stop. Our only quibble is with the breakfast pricing. The weekend rate of 15 euros was tolerable but when it went up to 21 on weekdays and the selection shrank, this method of pricing peeved us and it simply was not a good value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    882
    201
    43
    24
See reviews for
232
975
60
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

First time a hotel did not want to rebook a reserved room to another day!

Booked via hotels.com, payed €108 (instead of €130 direct) , felt sick the day of the stay and asked to be able to stay another day. After 2 telephones and 1 escalation, no flexibility was shown, a minimum of €100 had to be paid to choose another date. I proposed several times to pay a reasonable rebooking fee, again no flexibility.

So beware if you book via NH hotels, their customer service does not show any flexibility! I thought the mission of a hotel next to making a business was guaranteeing people a nice time. They ripped me of for €108!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
264 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August ‘09 while traveling through Belgium and northern France. It is nicely located across the street from the Stad Huis, within sight of the watchtower, and a short walk to Kornmarkt. The Novotel is just a few doors away and would also be a good choice.

The NH Ghent is very new and modern inside, with a small but attractive lobby. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful to us. We had a special weekend rate that included breakfast (worth 20e) for just 102.50 euro per night – a very good deal especially since we were upgraded to a top floor suite (room 339). The room was huge and beautifully appointed with a king size bed, large flat screen t.v., small refrigerator, coffee maker, two sitting areas (one had floor to ceiling windows and views of the watchtower, lots of closet space. The tiled bathroom was generous size with lots of counter space. It had a tub/shower combination. Wireless internet is available but expensive, at least at the then-current exchange rate (about $7us per hour).

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide selection, but at 20e we would have opted for something less pricey if it had not been included in our rate.

(Tip: We arrived by train from Brussels. The only way to get to the historic area is by taxi or by tram. We did the taxi coming in and took the tram out, but it requires walking a few blocks with your luggage.)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and just got back. Excellent location for Ghent and only a short walk from chocolate shops, canals and resterauntes.
We were in a twin bed room (no doubles left), very comfy and nice clean bedding. Good sized bathroom and great view from window.
Food, like all over Ghent seemed to be quite expensive and we did not eat a main meal in the hotel resteraunte however we had breakfast included and this was excellent, buffet style with lots and lots to chose from.
Hotel parking is also available at 15 euros per night, payable at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Away on business again. Hotel has great location close to the centre of Gent (€7 taxi from station but probably cheaper by tram). Check in was quick and easy and I got upgraded to the executive floor (not sure how!). These rooms are sweet. Very comfortable double bed with nice linens, a sofa at the bottom of the bed for watching the wide screen TV and a beautiful bathroom with his'n'hers basins and a huge bath and separate shower. Not sure about you but I judge a place by whether its shower is any good and I could have stayed in this one all day long! Breakfast was american buffet style but well worth it. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so not sure whether it was any good or not. Also I didn't use the free wi-fi so can't tell you whether it was any good or not but I did sink a few Chimay's in the Turks Head bar opposite the hotel so not far to shuffle back to hotel at end of evening. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
round-the-world
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Great service, fantastic room. You can upgrade your room for euro 10 and boy is it worth it.
Staff were friendly and even couriered my wedding ring to me when I left it behind in the room.
You cna hire bikes to see the area and the location cannot be beaten. We are 'flash packers' and this was one of our best experiences yet!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byrnoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Closer to the Gent-Dampoort station than the main one (Gard-Saint-Pierre) but most trains stop at both. Very close to the centre.
Excellent hotel even before a crisis occurred back home with the death of a close family member. Then the NH REALLY stepped up - placing phone calls for us; locating English-speaking operators etc, - and they didn't charge us a cent - not even the phone charges.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estufarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing