We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
NH Gent Belfort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Recently stayed for two nights in superior room.Room was huge,very modern and well equipped but had to ask for slippers! Hotel is very centrally located within easy walking distance of all attractions.Staff were helpful and friendly. Check in and check out was very speedy.Breakfast enjoyable,something for everyone.

The only problem was trying to find the hotel,it was very difficult due in part to all the work doing on in the streets in the 'historic centre'.We had to ask for help from four different people before we found it. If you have a car make use of the hotel car park,it's worth the money.

We would definitely stay again. We liked Ghent a lot although restaurants were pretty expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joandgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    882
    201
    43
    24
See reviews for
232
975
60
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

due to long term road / tramworks the centre of ghent is a bit of mess at the moment (don't go out in your best shoes!) and the taxi, from the ghent st.pieters cost about €12 for what would normlly be a more direct route. the hotel is very centrally located for the, very charming, old town.

check-in was very good and our room and bathroom were spacious. our deal involved a "free mini bar". however, this didn't amount to much and comprised a can of coke, a can of orange juice, two cans of stella, a small tube of pringles and either three or four small bottles of water.

big choice buffet breakfast was pretty decent and also included in our price.

the first two or three members of staff that we had spoken to prior were very helpful and pleasant. unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the girl that checked us out. she simply asked for our room number, without a hint of a smile, and when i presented my credit card, and simply gave me a slip to sign ( i was surprised not to have to use my pin). i then asked if she could call a cab, which she did, but without smiling or even acknowledging that i'd asked. that was it! no "did you enjoy your stay?" nothing! no interest whatsoever. when we left, i turned to my girlfriend and said "well i'll definitely be marking them (the hotel) down for that!" two days later i was called by my credit card company about recent irregular transactions (within the previous two days) and could i confirm they were my purchases (they weren't). i immediately turned to my partner and said that i wouldn't mind betting that the girl from the hotel had something to do with it.
i may be way off the mark but her complete lack of customer service and the timing made me think she had another agenda.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I stayed there for one night and everything was perfect. The hotel is situated just one street from the main squares and the cathedral. It's inside one antique marvellous building, but inside everything is new .
The room was incredibly big, with a big flat TV. It was overlooking a small street. There was no noise at all. Breakfast was incredibly good! scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, goffres, crepes, nutella, all types of cheese, juices, croissants, fruits, etc. Goos quality and quantity!
Staff very friendly and willing to do anything to help customers. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I would recommend this hotel which is in a great location and has decent rooms. On the whole the staff were very good, apart from one of the receptionists who was one of the most unfriendly and rude people I have ever met. When I arrived I was met with one word answers or grunts which is not the kind of welcome you expect from this standard of hotel. However once the shift changed the remaining staff were excellent and very helpful, in particular the porter, the evening receptionist and the night porter.

My only other complaint was that rather than getting a double bed, I got two singles which were put together and which were not attached to the wall so they moved around which was annoying.

On the whole though this is an excellent hotel in a great location which I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdMarcus1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Very modern hotel in a very historic location. Newly remodeled in a very cool and stylish manner with LED-lights, mirrors etc. Spacious lobby integrated into a historic facade.

Pros:
Nice, modern and spacious rooms with large, good beds, good TVs and good bathrooms with tubs
Good breakfast buffet
Professional service
Sauna and fitness room
Perfect location

Cons:
Breakfast was additionally

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruehstueckspause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

A fine four star hotel situated in the prime location of central Ghent right next to St Bavo’s Cathedral and other major amenities. The position couldn’t be any better to explore history and culture of this fascinating medieval city.

Standard rooms are relatively spacious, decorated in minimalist modern style and generally very comfortable. Not particularly fancy, but definitely good for the price. Breakfast is fine and plentiful too.

There is also a garage car park.

On the whole, probably one of the best places to stay in Ghent.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

This is an ideal location for bars and walking around the town of Ghent. We walked down to the old town alongside the waterfront in the evening where there are many top class restaurants to choose from.
The beds are comfortable and the double rooms are quiet ensuring a good night's sleep.
Prebooked Room rate 121.20 Euros.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generalaviationpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Property: NH Gent Belfort
Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ghent
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a hidden treasure tucked away in the heart of Ghent. Within this charming medieval city, standing in the shadow of the Town Hall, NH Gent Belfort waits for you to discover the riches it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing