We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The front door was situated at a tram stop so we took full advantage of the No 1 tram that went between the town centre and the train station. Good breakfast, buzzy bar at night. Wifi free in the lobby so don't get caught out paying 4 euros for it in your room. Rooms a bit tight but everything was clean and TV worked. Just as for a code for the lobby whenever. Could be a bit on the warm side. Would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycetalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Gent IBIS and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and the service provided. The room was very good, only complaint is that the bathroom was a bit small but it was fully functional so that was good. Breakfast was on the expensive side but very plentiful and good quality. Would definitely stay there again and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed 2 nights on business. My room was very spacious and clean. Great location. The no1 tram from the train station stops outside. It's only a few minutes walk into the beautiful old centre. The other Ibis is outside the cathedral and charges significantly more for the location.

The buffet breakfast was good, but the breakfast area was very busy. Unfortunately, there was a lot of corridor noise one night and my sleep was disturbed. My only other complaint is that on arrival at the hotel, it took ages to check in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wapenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our room was much larger than reviews had lead us to expect, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Situated on the top floor toward the back of the building there was no problem with noise but sound control was not good and noise might be problem elsewhere in the building. The bathroom was a bit cramped which cost a star.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Customer service is very poor and ineffective, they did not care about my complaint. I was asked to visit a web site of the hotel chain instead of forwarding my complaint to the hotel directly. Of course it was almost impossible to find it on the Internet.
The room was tiny, not enough space even for the luggage for two days. If you want to take a cold shower at the end of the day, just go ahead.
It was not a value for money....only if the location worths you a fortune.
I will not chose Ibis chain again, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliutazasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Ideally situated hotel right in the heart of the centre with 10 mins of all main areas. It is a decent walk from the station but the #1 tram stops right outside the hotel.
You know what you Gent at Ibis, good clean hotels with decent staff. The room was very good and clean, can't really say any more!

Room Tip: Use regular #1 tram to get to the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_bates09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Ideally situated in relation to the places I needed to go, this clean, modern hotel was also blessed with a car park - a great help in a crowded town centre like Gent. However, the car park is a bit difficult to locate and to enter - and, at 13 euros a day it isn't cheap. The room was OK but, like a lot of 'budget' hotels, it was small and, at first, warm and stuffy. Thankfully, it had a very effective air con system. It was nice to know that there was a 24-hour food menu available but the 'snack' consisted of just two types of sandwiches which I didn't fancy. And beware the lift - it stops very suddenly when it reaches the ground floor so bend those knees! Overall though, it was a useful stopover and if I go to Gent again I would consider using it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing