We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I recommend it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Even if the room was kind of little and the receptionists a little grumpy, i had a good time here. The buffet breakfast was good. Its a 25 minute walk from the Gent station (Sint Pieters) and a 10 minute walk to the centre. I have to say that i had 2 train tickets that disappeared on the room. Thank god were online tickets and i could ask the reception to reprint them. Maybe i lost them in some weird way, who knows. I would consider return here although.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snake_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    476
    249
    61
    16
See reviews for
86
442
65
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Whilst the stay at the hotel was good and comfortable, the directions to the hotel were not up to a good standard. The directions did not mention the numerous one way streets in the city, and gave no indication of where to park to be close to the hotel. Instructions should be a lot clearer and show where you can park to access the hotel. When the hotel was eventually found, we could not stop outside the hotel, as there was a tramline right outside. However the staff at reception did help us to find the right way to the hotel, after we parked some distance from the hotel and walked to find it.
I would suggest that directions need to be updated in order to assist other customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelscuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Dear Sirs. I think I left a nylon luggage cover in the room. It is very light weight so if you still have it perhaps you could mail it to me in UK. Many thanks in advance. Anthony Brown

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbenBled_Slovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Weekend break with my adult son to explore Gent, Oostende, Bruge and Brussels. Eurostar to Brussels and free onward journey to Gent. Chose Ibis Gent Centrum Opera for location and price. 15 min walk from Gent-St.Peters train stn or tram to door of hotel. Short walk from hotel to Gent centre. Hotel very clean. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly helpful english speaking staff. Aircon worked well. could also leave windows open on safety chain. Beds very comfortable. had day trip by train to Oostende and back to Brugge. Helpful station staff recommended buying Gent/Brugge return and Brugge/Ooostende return for best price. 12 Euro pp in total. Gent and Brugge are lovely. Oostende was having lots of work done on the public spaces on the water front. Was good to be near the sea. Free train back to Brussels as part of Eurostar ticket home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EE13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I spent 7 nights in this hotel and found it to be very nice. The room was small but well organized. The bed was comfortable. Wifi was free and I used it a lot to find things in Gent. Mosquitoes were a problem if the window was open at night, so I used the airconditioner at night. I had a package that included breakfast so it was a good deal. The buffet was nice and I didn't have to eat again until dinner time. It is on the Tram 1 line so it was easy to get to and from the train station. Also a short walk to the city center and to my meeting at the University.

Room Tip: Third floor is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is right on the tram line, so getting to and from the station is easy. The rooms are very compact, but space is used expertly. The beds are very comfortable and we had the luxury of some air conditioning too. Staff are all very professional and helpful too.

It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the main square, and everything in the city is within walking distance.

Very pleased with the stay, and the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Booked the hotel through Great Escapes in the UK, so had a 3rd night free.

Found the hotel nicely located for the centre (an easy 5 to 10 minute walk), its also on a tram line stop, so easy to get to the rail station if needed.

The hotel was clean, tidy, had a good selection of buffet breakfast. Even the bar prices were not too badly priced.

The rooms are not the biggest but for the price we paid we were more than happy. Rooms also have air-con so great for the summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrengreenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing