We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travelling camel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    470
    242
    61
    16
See reviews for
81
433
65
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. The check in was very efficient and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small, but the bed was large and very comfortable. The room was very clean and kept like that during our stay. Breakfast was enjoyable, but the bacon had disappeared by the weekend. We had a nice snack from the restaurant and the bar was well run with the barman very keen and helpful. The location is great, within easy walking distance of the historic centre and with tramlines outside. The car park underneath the hotel is small and there are steps up to reception. There is no supervision and idiots often park over lines without consideration for others. Being an Ibis it's overpriced at 15 euro per night, but convenient. There is internet available if you need it. We would be happy to return and have no complaints. Hooray!

Room Tip: It's quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel !

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here with three friends for two nights in October, on a Gent sight seeing trip. Its central location was very handy with car parks both at the hotel and nearby. It is also on a major tram route which is useful if you don't want to walk, although most of the city's main attractions are within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the prices reasonable. Rooms were comfortable and clean. I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it. But there is a very good Italian restaurant virtually opposite (closed Sundays) and others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lennie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Lenny,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in our hotel !

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days this October whilst working nearby, location is great only a 5 min walk and your in the centre.
Hotel isn't too bad, good bar and staff but room a little sparse and bathroom very small but for the price I can't argue and would stay again. The only bad point was the Iron was rubbish and ruined my shirt although that could also be something todo with the strong Belgium ale!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay in our hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Below average Ibis hotel in good location, very small and narrow underground car parking charge 15euros a day, with no guarantee of parking spot if you leave and come back, you will lose your parking spot if it is full as it is open to the public. Very small room, RECEPTION STAFF IMPATIENT & RUDE, I would assumed it is management problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Solihull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Its exactly what youd expect from an IBIS hotel Its value for money and quite basic. However, the staff are always on hand and there is a bar with friendly staff. The restaurant menu is quite basic. The rooms are quite standard and what youd expect. The beds are comfortable and a good range of programmes on TV. Its quite good value for money and you cannot fault it. Its quite a clean hotel and is in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Cost data : Prebooked and prepaid Euros 69 (Tuesday night) excl breakfast, plus 2.50pp tourist tax, plus Euros 15 per night for hotel's underground car park.

-Convenient location just 10 minutes walk from the City Centre and tourist sights.
-Air Conditioning
-Comfortable bed
-Clean room
-Friendly hotel staff
-Room a bit small but manageable
-No Tea/Coffee making facitilties

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mr / Mrs Hauxton,

Thank you for your review on your stay in our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing