We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is still in the old Ibis style. Staff is friendly and the hotel is very centrally located. Fine for an overnight on a business trip.
There s a nice pasta restaurant located just in front of the hotel (left corner).




  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013
Google Translation

Cher hôte,
Cher JB,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à notre hôtel.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Madame/ Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Used this hotel for many years, always a good place to stay. Accomodation is clean and tidy (only the bathroon is a bit small), staff are very friendly and have been there for many years. Breakfast food is always very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear guest,
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review after your stay in our hotel.
It's always a pleasure to receive compliments and I'll surely pass them on to my team.

I hope to welcome you soon again in in our hotel were you'll discover our brand new reception and refurbished bar area.

Best regards,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Myself and 2 friends, room was small but we didnt expect much with the price we payed so thats fine. Room was kind of dirty and we all came out with bed bug bites afterwards from an infestation in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran_carroll89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay in our hotel.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I'm a bit suprised to hear that you were bitten during your stay and that no one mentioned it. We have no knowledge of any bed bugs in our rooms and had no complaints since.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stephan Vanwingene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It seemed that there was an international trade fair for the hotel industry happening just after our one night stay.The hotel was fully booked and prices raised accordingly. Not the best time you would think to tear up the entrance and the lobby and lay a new concrete floor.However the managment in their wisdom decided that the day we were there was the time to do it and never mind the guests.
We arrived in pouring rain and were mystified to find no obvious way in past three men with pneumatic drills.They eventually pointed to an arrow and we opened a door to a rubble strewn floor and found our way to reception.The noise was horrendous but although the desk staff were pleasant there was no apology . On the third floor the noise was OK but the large double bed with 'new sweet bedding ' mentioned on our booking form is just another name for an ordinary bed in a tired small room with a minute bathroom.It is one of the smallest Ibis rooms I have been in. A large person would have not got in the bathroom at all but that's par for the course if you are paying budget prices.We were not though. It seems that the price that day was even higher than the amount we paid and we were given to understand that we were lucky to be there at all because of the fair.I have never paid on arrival before but this was demanded as I was using a debit card.
I always tell friends what good value the Ibis chain is and felt very let down.They certainly won't trust my judgment again
As we were only staying one night we put up with treading across the floor on bits of rubber avoiding wet concrete, lifts out of order and an air of desolation.If there had even been a sincere apology from the management on the wall or a reduction in price rather than a massive hike we might have felt happier.There was a free drink but that does not make up for what appears to be a failure of management at a high level.I think the Accor chain needs to look at its priorities if this is what it thinks is good enough.

Room Tip: Wait until the upgrading is finished.Check before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear EDDY BONGAERTS,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.There has been a miscommunication between the constuctors and the hotel, which resulted in a bad indication of the temporary entrance at the side of the hotel. Our apologies for this.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here. So convenient. Parking under the hotel. Very close to the town centre and the tram stops at the entrance to the hotel. Plenty of pubs and restaurants close by. Renovations were taking place to the front and entrance but the disruption was minimal, so no problem to us. Rooms are small but clean and everything you need is there. Got it marked for our our next trip to Ghent.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel is you do not want to hear the cars and trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKC227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank travelcamel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#20 of 39 in Ghent
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing