We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & very reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We spent 1 night at the Ibis Centrum in Gent. When arriving in Gent we did not have a hotel booked and its not easy to find any hotels whilst driving round the city. We called ahead to check availability and from that point, until we left the reception staff were very helpful and polite.

The room was fairly small but very light and clean. The hotel is in a great location (about 2 mins walk to the historic area – a pretty area along the canal with many restaurants, bars and shops) and has an underground car park; it is also very reasonably priced compared to the other hotels in town.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Gent but do try to take a map with you as there were some occasions found ourselves driving along behind trams, unsure if we were allowed to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

Stayed here with my Mum. Great location in Ghent, near the centre. Room adequate, clean, bar downstairs. Breakfast full buffet. Don't hesitate to stay here. Only downside we had no view from room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

I would stay here again. Nicely located 10 minutes pleasant walk from the central square. Quiet area, close to a pretty canal and a couple of resteraunts on the doorstep. Rooms were small-ish but had everything that was needed. Good hot showers even though the hotel was full (but no shower gels/shampoo so bring your own). Room was clean and comfortable. Walls perhaps a bit thin, decoration was good.

Breakfast was plentiful. A bit of a queue if you all turn up at the same time (and there was a full coach load in my group), but the food was good enough.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

This isn't a 5 star hotel, but for a few days break it is absolutely fine. I wasn't looking forward to the Ibis brand, but this was a very positive experience, and worth coming back to.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hertsman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

My Company booked me into this Hotel with 12 other colleagues for 3 nights.
My expectations were low as I’ve had poor experiences with IBIS Hotels in the past – I certainly wouldn’t have chosen the Hotel if I had made my own booking.
The location was very central & easy to walk around beautiful Ghent
I’m presuming the Hotel has had a bit of makeover as the public area looked bright, fresh & contemporary. The Bar area looked quite funky & had a pleasant atmosphere.
The rooms are quite small with a tiny bathroom but the bed is large & comfortable. The room was very clean.
The room rate was very low & certainly represented very good value. The rate didn’t include breakfast but at €13 pp extra this also represented pretty good value. I’ve stopped many times in Ghent before & the Hotels aren’t particularly cheap.
Bad Points
As previous reviews have commented the corridors did smell a bit of smoke (I’m presuming this is because of poor ventilation)
The bathroom is pretty tiny – I think anybody who is pretty large may have some issues also annoyingly in the shower there is nowhere to stand your bottles or soap.
Good Points
The Rate!! – It really does offer good value for money!
The Staff all seemed friendly & professional not the usual surly bunch you get with some budget brands.
The Bar Area was pleasant - the Bar Staff there was very friendly & helpful.
Overall I can thoroughly recommend this Hotel & this experience has maybe change my opinions on IBIS Hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

On a recent break in Belgium, my partner and I stayed in hotels in Brussels, Brugge and Ghent. We were booking on a budget, and found some really nice places. Although this one was marginally cheaper than the others we stayed at, it was the worst by far.

The location is good - close to the train station and the town with a tram stop right outside. The lobby and bar areas are pleasant enough and staff were friendly and helpful.

However, everyone seemed to be smoking in their rooms, and the smell of smoke in the corridors was overpowering. At night the smoke also infilitrated our room - not nice.

The walls are paper thin, to the extent that you could hear people using the loo in the room next door; and the noise of people banging and shouting on the corridors went on all night. We also had an electric box on the corrdior outside our room which provided a constant background buzzing noise.

The bathroom was modern, and clean. The whole room was clean but there was a dubious looking stain on the carpet next to the bed which was off-putting.

The room itself was tiny, with the very small double bed pushed aginst a wall. It really wasn't comfortable at all, and coupled with all the noise, made for a very bad night's sleep.

Fortunately, Ghent is a lovely city, so our visit wasn't too marred, but this really does feel like a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lambylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Location is good for the centre of Ghent which is a lovely spot for a weekend away. About a 15 minute walk into town and good bars and restaurants around the hotel itself.

Its an Ibis so nothing out of the ordinary but comfortable rooms and good facilities at the hotel which are all detailed on the website. Parking is situated under the hotel.

Thanks to a group of rugby fans on a visit I probably managed 2 hours sleep which wasn't a great start considering we had a long drive to Cologne the next day. Thanks to the paper thin walls I heard nothing but banging on doors through the early hours (including ours being kicked several times - not pleasant) and screaming and shouting from about 7 the next morning. It really spoiled the stay for me. Unfortunately I felt too intimidated to confront them or go down to speak to reception but heard somebody else complaining the next morning and advised I'd had the same problems - to be fair the hotel did cancel the parking charge by way of an apology.

Would visit Ghent again but only if the louts were absent! I'd probably splash out and stay at the new Marriott which was in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

Spent a nite there with my wife n boys on Dec 31, 2006 to celebrate the new year. We took two rooms - each room was clean n comfy, bathroom properly equipped, twinbed also clean n comfy. Breakfast was ample n great, despite the endless throng of guests - even the breakfast time was extended to 11.30 due to late risers - well done!

All in all, we had a great time, n would'nt hesitate to come here again for another visit.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adicaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing