We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Europa Hotel(Ghent)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Onderbergen(Ghent)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
153
536
289
70
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
536
289
70
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stoprooms are small but cleanbudget hotelminute walkrail stationcity centrebuffet breakfastcar parkopen the windownice barnight's sleeproom ratecouple of nightsexcellent locationcroissantsold citybeautiful city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed just one night. We walked from St Pieter's train station - it was quite a hot day but was manageable with backpacks. We took a tram back to the station though - very easy (2.10 EUR from the machine just outside the hotel - we got change from the helpful guy at the reception).

Check in was smooth and the room small, clean, fresh and quiet. We chose not to pay 14 EUR for breakfast. I was satisfied with value for money with a room rate of 62 EUR.

Easily walkable (5-10 mins) into town down a shopping street before reaching the historic centre.

Well worth a visit, Ghent had a different feel from Bruges but was just as pretty down by the water at night. After days of sightseeing (in Amsterdam and Bruges), I was very happy that Ghent Belfry has a lift!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Well, Ibis is Ibis. If you have been to one then you have been to all.
Why we chose Ibis Opera for our 1-night-stay in Gent was the location and also the price. All the other hotels in the area were 15% or more expensive and many did not offer parking possibilities. And parking in the central Gent can be tricky.
From Ibis Opera you can get to the absolute city centre in 10 minutes (walking) or even faster with a tram (stops just in front of the hotel).
So if you need a place to crash in the central town then this is the place. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Well located. Tram 1 from the train station stops right outside. Small rooms, even smaller ensuite but comfortable bed. Wide choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We visited Ibis Gent Opera from 23rd – 26th of April 2010. We travelled by car to Gent Expo where we parked for free next to the tram station. The tram brought us within 15 min. right into the city centre at about 100 mtrs. from the hotel. The hotel is located in the historical center of the city, in the vicinity of the opera, the Capitole Theater, Housepubs and restaurants. Ideally situated for discovering the medieval heart of Flanders, its monuments and museums. The hotel was built in 1997, and gives a well maintained impression. There is a bus/tram stop in front of the hotel. St. Baaf’s cathedral is about 600 mtrs. away. In the entrance hall you will find a bar and the breakfast room.
Staff is very kind and helpful: check in/check out went very smoothly.
The rooms are small with a large double bed or a twin bed, and (at least ours) with a very good mattress. There is a small TV with a lot of channels in different languages. There is no fridge or mini bar. On both levels the airco is working very quietly but cools hardly sufficiently (19 degrees at night is too warm). We occupied room 433 with a view on the roofs of the neighbouring buildings; even when you opened the double glazed window it was all very quiet. There is a small linen cupboard, and at least three large mirrors. There is an internet connection in the room. The bathroom is very, very small and has a good working shower, a wash stand and a toilet. There is only liquid soap. Towels are changed every day, even when you do not throw them on the floor as is the usual sign for changing.
Breakfast is really good but the hotel is, regarding the breakfast, not accommodated for a full house: for the first time since years we had to queue up on Saturday before having our breakfast. There are several kinds of bread, meat products and cheese, sweets, fresh fruit, etc. Our breakfast was included in the room price, otherwise 14 euro would be rather pricey. We booked through GTA, the only website we visited which had a 3=2 offer including breakfast.
Tip: have diner in Du Progress at the Korenmarkt: very good quality at reasonable prices. For two main dishes and a bottle of wine we payed less than 40 euro.
The hotel is very advisable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Ibis always seems to be the safe choice in Belgium... I spent a few nights here and was pretty satisfied with it. The rooms are always pretty good quality for the price and the beds in particular are very comfortable, I slept perfectly all week!

To get here from St Pieters station you take the no 1 tram - due to major roadworks in Ghent at the moment the stop is tucked away down an access road to the station, and then stops at Justitiepalais where you walk 2 mins further down the street to get into the hotel. Heading towards the station the tram stop is literally outside the hotel door.

Internet access is wired only (cable supplied by hotel) at the usual 10 euros for 3 hours (!) - at least you don't have to faff around trying to buy a wireless access code online which I have never managed to do at any Ibis so far. No problems at all with speed or connection once I got online.

The only thing I found a bit strange was the bathroom. I appreciate they have a small space to work with but the configuration of the mirrors meant that anyone could look through the window and see what you were doing in the bathroom! Because of the size of the bathroom you'll almost certainly have to keep the door open at some point, so close the bedroom curtain first....

One other thing, other Ibises I've used in Belgium have a proper restaurant, but this one doesn't - breakfast aside, there would only have been a selection of microwave meals if you wanted to eat here. (nb you need to book a table at most Ghent restauarants for evening meals, especially if there are events going on in town).

Not sure when the next time is I'll visit Ghent but would certainly stay here again if so.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews