We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey break in Gent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
An Accor traveller
Fareham
1
Reviewed 2 November 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

I spent 3 nights here and was very happy with everything. The room was small but comfortable and clean. There is a friendly bar and all the staff were helpful and spoke English. It was 5 or 10 minutes from the old city attractions and there are several restaurants really near which were not too expensive and fine for a lone female traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jspring51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Well located, rooms as described in other reviews - small but clean and fairly comfortable.
Secure parking at 13euro per night,which we found very reasonable

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Almost equidistant from the train station and the city center. Very small, yet comfortable, room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VStraneChudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Gent proved to be a hidden gem and this hotel, only a 10min walk from centre, offered great value for a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrock-Prose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

In general I am not a fan of Accor hotels and especially the Ibis chain. I stayed at this place because I had some coupons from Accor after those once in a while stay due in the Accor chain due to business/location combination.
This was one of the cheapest reasonably located hotel of this chain in Ghent especially since I had to book a non-prepaid rate to use the coupons.
Location: There is a tram stop outside of the hotel going towards the Expo center. Most probably it passes also the Gent St-Pieter station. There are some restaurants in the area and walking distance to the Belfry area where more restaurants can be found.
Lobby/Reception: Quite modernly decorated and simple.
Access to rooms is via the key card, which is good since anyone can walk in and out ensuring sufficient security for non-resident to have access to the floors.
Room: As expected a rather small room with hardly any space to move and place the luggage. The bathroom is even smaller. Basic amenities in the shower.
In general room was well cleaned. Here ends the pro side of the hotel.
To begin on the con side, the rooms have very thin walls and doors. All noise and "banging" of doors can be heard clearly. Even the plumbing is quite loud as you can hear clearly shower and toilet being flushed. The whole thing can become a nightmare if the floor is occupied by late night clubbers or family with kids out of control. The air-conditioning unit was rumbling even at low fan speed. Bed was sufficiently comfortable.
Another rant I find with the Accor brand is that even for the high rate that you pay, no breakfast is included which they want approximately 18 Euro! Comparing this to other chains with the same level of service hotel, i.e, Holiday inn express I would expect breakfast thrown in. Furthermore the breakfast from what I have seen is not even at all to the free breakfast you can get at HIExpress!
In general, I would not return to the hotel, not to the fault of the staff (whom are great) but just the concept of the Ibis chain and especially the thin doors and walls.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed just one night. We walked from St Pieter's train station - it was quite a hot day but was manageable with backpacks. We took a tram back to the station though - very easy (2.10 EUR from the machine just outside the hotel - we got change from the helpful guy at the reception).

Check in was smooth and the room small, clean, fresh and quiet. We chose not to pay 14 EUR for breakfast. I was satisfied with value for money with a room rate of 62 EUR.

Easily walkable (5-10 mins) into town down a shopping street before reaching the historic centre.

Well worth a visit, Ghent had a different feel from Bruges but was just as pretty down by the water at night. After days of sightseeing (in Amsterdam and Bruges), I was very happy that Ghent Belfry has a lift!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Gent Centrum Opera is an economy hotel located in the vibrant medieval city centre of Ghent. With close proximity to all major touristic attractions as the 'Gravensteen' Castle and in the very heart of the shopping centre. The hotel is easily accessible by tram from the station. The tram stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is an ideal point of departure to discover the local museums as well as the Saint Bavo's Cathedral with the famous altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mystic Lamb'. The hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with a high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a trendy bar. On-site parking with possibility to store your bicycle. GLBT friendly hotel. Pets allowed. Meeting and luggage room available. There is a tram stop in front of the hotel, convenient travel connections to Bruges, Brussels and Antwerp. You can easily get to your business meeting or visit the well known landmarks in the four medieval cities of Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located in Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district. The 134 rooms are equipped with the new Sweet Bed. The practical and inviting ibis room boasts all the features you want most including international TV channels and a bathroom with shower. Enjoy a treat or chill out with a drink in our friendly bar. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and there is complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests throughout the building. Ibis Gent Centrum Opera is ready to adjust to your schedule. Reception is open 24 hours a day to help with any of your queries. The Dawn of a Brand New Breakfast... Breakfast will never be boring again. Enjoy making your own Brussels waffles and try our different kinds of fresh baked bread, rolls and fresh squeezed orange juice. You can relax and enjoy our buffet daily from 6.30am to 10am (11am on the Weekend and Bank Holidays). Hotel with on-site parking, luggage room and place to store your bicycle. With convenient travel connections and only a 30 minutes drive to Bruges and less then one hour to Brussels and Antwerp. Hotel ibis Gent Centrum Opera is the ideal point of departure to visit the four most famous medieval cities in Flanders. The ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is located downtown Ghent within the entertainment and shopping district and offers the perfect base to explore the city. You can easily get to your business meeting or see the famous landmarks of nearby attractions including the Saint Bavo Cathedral with its famous Altarpiece 'Adoration of the Mustic Lamb' and the unique city centre located 'Gravensteen Castle'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing