We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping under the belltower of St Baafs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
An Accor traveller
Den Haag
1
Reviewed 8 May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Spent a long weekend in Gent and the location of the hotel couldn’t be better, as others have said the car park is very tight but the public car park (Kouter) is only 5 minutes away.
The staff were very keen to help and make us welcome, Ceres in the bar in particular deserves special mention for looking after us – thank you. The breakfast is good value if you have a large appetite (eat as much as you want for 14 euro) but if like me all you want is a coffee and croissant/bread then I’d recommend one of the many cafes or bars (about 5 euro).
Gent is a lovely city and I’ll definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear,

I would like to thank you for your kind feedback. As a general manager it's very rewarding for my staff to see that they have made a difference. Your comments will be handed over to them.

I'm pleased to read that you have found our breakfast buffet good value for money. recently we have increased the varieties and we have changed a number off tghings to increase the guests satisfaction. Ours "Sevice starts with a smile" program which is implementated in the Belgium Ibis network has as main objectif to have a "staff that is very keen to help and make us welcome", as you mentioned in your remark.

Hopefully in the future we will be able to welcome you again in one off the Ibis hotels in Belgium.
Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Nieuwegein
1
Reviewed 2 May 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2011

A pleasant hotel of its type. The hotel needs to warn customers about its car park. It has a very very narrow entrance witha hidden rail just inside the lifting door. This prevents one turning effectively. I actually damaged the side of the car quite badly. There is then a steep slope and a sharp left turn. The parking spaces are minimal and one suspects that iof teh car park was full it would be difficult to leave it! Getting out isalso only for small cars. (I have Citroen C5 estate) Luckily the car park had enough spare spaces to allow us to leave. Had it been full I don't think it would have been possible to turn and reversing up a slope with minimal space either side wouldhave tested anyone's driving ability.

Room Tip: Nice hotel. Don't use the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersteve044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear,

first off all I would like to thank you for the good feedback on the standards of our Ibis chain hotel. The effort that my team makes every day to meet up with tghe standards makes that comments like yours, make the input more then wurth. Many thanks and I'll will pas them the information.
Regarding the car park I can only confirm that as the car get bigger and bigger, some brands will have it more difficult then others to enter into the car park.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the near futur in our hotel.

Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tarporley
2
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The hotel was very central to the old town and easy to locate. We found the staff very helpful and the room and beds very comfortable.
The only drawback was that the carpark had a limited number of spaces so we had to park near the flower market some 8-10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We cannot thank them enough.
The only downside, the ventilation in our toilet did not work. But despite that, due to the friendly staff and very convenient location(in the middle of old town and shopping district), high recommend it to every one looking for a budget hotel with quality service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aysem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Customers,

it's with great pleasure and pride that I have consulted your comments on tripadvisor. It's always great to hear that your staff wasvery friendly and helpful. Many thanks that you will recommend our hotel for its service and good quality.

See you next time in Ghent.

Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Malvern
2
Reviewed 27 March 2011

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BMAES, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Address: Limburgstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing