We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
UK/Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I am not giving 5 Stars to this Hotel, just because it is a no frill and simple hotel, but it has a lot to offer. We paid very little (£60 per night inclusive of breakfast) and we were not expecting such good quality hotel!

Highlights - Breakfast is excellent, location is probably the best in town (lovely views onto the Cathedral), great staff at the bar and lovely powerful shower. Things that could be improved - The Staff at the reception was not always helpful as you would expect, they did not want to advise us where to eat and they did not know Museums opening times, etc...

Rather than this small negative point, we found the hotel value for money and definitely reccomend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel at the price of 2!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Definitelygio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for this wonderful review. You have provided me with an excellent new base line Good value for money and definitely recommend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel at the price of 2!
Many thanks a hope to see you in the future in Ibis Ghent Kathedraal.

Best regards

Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    560
    236
    57
    23
See reviews for
127
483
78
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The location is great, in the centre, nearby shops, restaurants and cathedrals. The room is small, but clean. Everyday new towels, shampoo and shower gel is provided, also a hairdryer. Breakfast is okay, different sorts of bread, cereals, fruit, eggs, cheese, marmelade and yoghurt. Simple but okay hotel for a city trip Ghent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseDenBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear,

I would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback and comments. As manager it's always super to have positive comments regarding staff and service. This makes there daily surch for improvemend wurthwhile. It's trye that we have a top location in the historical hart of the medieval town of Ghent.
Many thanks a hope to see you soon in Ghent

Best regards

Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Andalucia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We went to stay in this hotel in gent after staying in a fairly luxurious, 4 star hotel in Amsterdam so since this was a 2 star it really was a step down. However for a 2 star it was nice. The bed was comfortable. And the room and bathroom were fairly clean. No free in room internet though. (We got a sim card for my phone and tethered our internet from that. 10 Euro for 2G of data was fine and we could then use mobile trip advisor from the phone, etc.)

In comparison we got a special on the 4 star in both amsterdam, and later the 4 star in brussels so those stays were something like 85 Euro a night were as the ibis was something like 67 a night. Personally I would pay the extra 18 euro for the 4 star hotels but we couldn't find any in gent. Thus we went with the Ibis. It started off not so good though since the shower was blocked. If you showered for 5 minutes the shower pan filled up with water and started to overflow. I went down in the morning and told reception. They said they were going to fix it, but the next night and the next night the shower was still not fixed. On checking out of the hotel I noticed they advertised everywhere that they will fix your problems within 15 minutes or "the stay is on us". So I said this to the reception and after a tiny bit of "we need to ring a manager", "we can offer you one night free", etc. I pointed out that the shower was not working for the last two nights with plenty of notice from me. They agreed and gave us the last two nights accommodation free! So they really do honor there word on this. At least in our case! The receptionist we checked out with was very nice, and the bar woman was also extremely nice and friendly!

So in conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel (since I think the blocked shower thing was an exception and they handled it very well) and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for your feedback. It's is super to see that our quality charter is recognized by our customers. This procedure is one of our most important rules as for maintaining a high standard of quality, as for keeping the staff and management alert to quality. Glad that this was honored correctly. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the future once again in Ghent under perfect conditions.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

At check-in, the receptionist insistently tried to charge in advance for the stay with no cordialness and hospitality manners. After the room was cleaned the first time, half a dozen hairs were left on the bathroom door, probably from the dirty cleaning cloth. We complained at the reception in the afternoon and were told the housekeepers would only be back the following day. And then there's the distinctive plumbing smell when you use the hot water and the small space for the toilet and the difficult to squeeze hand soap, all typical Ibis.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedromatoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear,

First off all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us true this media your feedback on your stay. Regarding the credit card issues during check-in I only can say that we ask for a credit card garantuee so that you extra's can be charged to your room without any problem during your stay as well that this 'reservation' is our garantuee for payment.
Your remarks regarding the cleanliness where a surprise and should haven't happen. The way we have dealed with this problem was not at all in line with our policy and way of working. I do apologize for this inconvenience.
As stated in your comments the Ibis concept for decorating the rooms and the amenities are a worldwide standard for the brand, therefore it's not possible to make alteration what so ever. Our apologies if this standard isn't in line with your expectations.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Hotel average, no coffee or iron in room. Rooms clean and the location is great to see the old city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for positing you comments regarding your stay in the Ibis Ghent St Baafs. It's true as mentioned that we are situated at a 5' walk from all main shopping streets in Ghent and straight in the medieval hart of the town.
Regarding the rooms we have international standards for our brand, the best room on a top location at the best available price on the market is our tagline.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We have stayed here before,and would not hesitate to stay here again,Hotel is well situated for all site,s to see,and is not hard to find following the sign,s for hotel,down side is the hotel parking 13 spaces only underneath,slope in is very steep,(risk of grounding front of low slung car,mine just clears)but parking is close by underground again,cheap to park there 12euros for 20 hrs(inluding overnite stay),14 euro pp/b/fast is steep,we ate just around the corner for 8euros for 2,No tea making facilities in the room,so take your own travel kettle if you want your own tea in the room,but still a great hotel,to stay in

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. This information helps us in improving on a daily basis our service. The best publicity to have as a general manager of a hotel is to read comments as "We have stayed here before, and would not hesitate to stay here again" and "a great hotel, to stay in". It's true that we have a super location ...only steps away from the Cathedral with the famous painting 'Lam Gods' and right into the historical heart of the medieval town of Ghent.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you soon in our hotel once again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

As with most Ibis hotels, this one provides all that you need for a short stay without unnecessary luxuries. The big bonus is the situation, right in the heart of the old city, close to all of the main sights and the many excellent restaurants. Ghent is not the poor relation of Bruges but a fascinating place in its own right. The Ibis makes an ideal base. Don't buy a bottle of water in the bar because it will cost you five Euros! Beer is fairly priced. Breakfast offers a good buffet selection and hot food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMAES, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Feedback of a stay has a Hugh contribution towards future results and improvements. Many Thanks. As you have mentioned in your comments is very pleased to see that we respond the full 100% to one of the base lines of the Ibis Brand: best price, best price quality offer on top location.
As manager it's very rewarding to see that the daily effort of the staff in trying to improve the service quality is seen and rewarded.
Many thanks.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Address: Limburgstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing