We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Wessex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Not our usual chain but booked because it was such good value for a short break; wasn't sure how our stay would be. Parked in the car park below the hotel - plenty of room when we arrived.
The super clean room, though not large, was big enough.The air-con was efficient and wonderfully quiet so it didn't disturb our sleep. The bed was really comfortable and we slept very well. Reasonably priced food and drinks from their bar / restaurant so we didn't feel ripped off when we had snacks and drinks in our room. Location was excellent - we overlooked the cathedral. Had breakfast at a little cafe a couple of doors down from the hotel at a very reasonable price.
Completed a standard on-line evaluation of the hotel after our stay and was surprised to receive a personal response to my comments from the manager - I've never had that happen before with a 'chain' motel and thought it very impressive.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a good value comfortable stay, and will now always consider booking an Ibis when travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    549
    231
    56
    23
See reviews for
123
477
78
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It had a great location, right in the middle of all the main Gent attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The man who checked us in was funny and knowledgable - he added all his personal favourite places to eat and drink to a map of the city for us and told us a funny news story about a recent incident that had happened in Gent.

When we emerged from the elevator to the hallway, we were disappointed to see that our room was right next to the elevator. Our disappointment was short-lived when we entered our room and saw the view - wow! We were on the 5th floor and overlooked all the cute rooftops and towers of Gent. Our worries about noise from the elevator ended up not being a problem - we heard nothing all night. The room was small, but very clean. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were small and flat. We did find extra pillows in the wardrobe which helped.

Overall, a good, basic experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor will have a better view, particularly those on the east side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaAndMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed there 2 nights. The location is just perfect, we are really in the center. The room are small but the bed is large. Bathroom is well.
Staff is nice. I have not use the restaurant facilities.
I recommend: good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights - were not sure what to expect of this 2* hotel. But turned out to be great value for money as the location was fantastic. Rooms are very small but bathrooms were fine. Parking was expensive but the alternative is a 10 min walk so not too difficult. But it was great to be right in the centre of Ghent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September 2012. Excellent location, right in the centre of Gent. Typical Ibis layout, basic but very well organised and spotlessly clean throughout. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only downside was having to park a couple of hundred metres away. A little on the expensive side but would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel has a great location – provided you don't go during the Ghent Festival OR do like very loud hard rock music, from the stage just outside, invading your head well into the small hours OR take care to get a room in the back. Ironically, a card in the room claimed that providing guests with a good night's sleep was their 'top priority', but when I pointed this out to the woman in reception, she was unsympathetic. Unlike the nice man on the desk the following day, who readily changed my room and even went into the kitchen to fix me a snack (I was travelling with my choir and timing for meals was tricky). Everyone agreed that the beds (even the pillows) were very comfortable, and the buffet breakfast (not just 'continental', as one reviewer reports) was good. 'Not so keen on the very slick floors (shower, bathroom and bedroom), but the bathroom fixtures were modern and well designed. A safe in the room would be a desirable improvement. As the room was part of a package, I don't know whether or not it was good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Address: Limburgstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing