We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

There is no doubt that it has a great location but that's all that's going for it. From the unwelcoming and off hand reception staff who were keen to get their hands on your credit card and nothing else to the bar where the bar woman was more interested in selling homemade jewellery to fellow guests than to serving the beer you knew the word "service" meant nothing. The room was all right but the corridor was scruffy and none too clean. We decided against breakfast when we saw the several uncleared tables and headed off to a very clean and good café opposite. All in all - not worth a visit and not going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    560
    236
    57
    23
See reviews for
127
483
78
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This Ibis is great: great location. Great value for money. Great staff, friendly and welcoming.

Having been thrown out of the Hancelot hotel in Gent at 11pm that night for having our dog in our car, parked in the hotel's garage, we were kindly greeted at the Ibis and were invited to take the dog into our room.

The room was, like in all Ibis hotels, spotlessly clean, had blackout curtains and a view of Gent's cathedral. What else do you want for a night's stay? Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Being central and near most tram lines, makes it ideal for business trips. You can reach your working location rather easily, and at the end of the day wander on the square and neighbouring streets and restaurants.

As for the hotel, I found the beds rather comfortable but had an issue with the shower as it was difficult for it to maintain proper temperature.

Bottom line, I do recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank crazyfacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is very good. Love the shower. The location is good very handy for sight seeing and restaurants. Staff very friendly and very helpfull. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again when we next go to Ghent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Ibis group are known for being a business style hotel for short trips etc. I love them I must say as they have always given us everything we need from a hotel.

Yes the rooms may be "Compact but waht more could you need than a bed in a bedroom? At Ibis you get the best comfortable bed and with exceelent pillows. Always guaranteed a good nights sleep.

You have a flat screen Tv, incredible internet connection,deskk and work area, ample mirrors, A bathrrom with unending amounts of very hot water, hairdryer and good towels.

The Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal is very clean indeed and well looked after, Very hard to finf a fault in the room. Many reviews talk about noise at this hotel. We were at the front of the hotel facing the road and the Cathedral and can honestly say we slept like babes. No noise from other rooms ar from people maing there way around the hotel.

Reception /Checkin was fast, friendly and efficient.
Whilst there may not be Tea and Coffee in the rooms, it is available 24hrs Downstairs in the coffe shop, we had coffee at 3am no problem at all.

One of the reviews on here made me laugh as they said one of the bad points of the hotel was that the toilet faced the wall, well!!!! what do want your toilet to face? The Cathedral ????

The location could not be more central and there is private parking underneath the hotel. All in all, for a city break, Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal is the perfect place to "Hang your hat"

Room Tip: Dont worry about the bells from the square - its lovely to hear them and they are not as loud as peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDiamondS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Address: Limburgstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing