We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This is again a great offering from Ibis. It's in the best possible location and extremely good from a value for money point of view. It's also clean and modern. I will stay here again if I have the opportunity to visit Ghent again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We normaly staying on Hilton hotels. But in Gent we choose Ibis, because we stayed only one night. So it was cheaper then our usual stay but I have to say that staff was really helpful and nice. Room was big and clean. I really appreciate when our littke daughter made a mess in the bed and thr ladies changed our bed within 5 minutes! I was shocked. The hotel is very well situated so everything is very close!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank TakeMyAdvice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The best thing about this Ibis is it's location. At the corner of one of the main squares, but the rooms face two queit streets.
Friendly staff, fine beds, clean: all ok.
We were less enthousiastic about the size of the rooms (very small) and the sound level from the corridor (other guests coming home at night, being very queit, could be very well heard though).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Despite other reviews, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and had no problem getting a room straight away. The room was pretty small as well as the two beds. But it was clean and suited our purpose. The location of this hotel can't be beat. You are walking distance from everything. The only draw back, and I believe it's due to the time of year, is the noise. Situated right next to one of the winter markets has made it a noisy room. Bring ear plugs. Also pillows aren't great. Kinda lumpy. Otherwise, value for money it's a winner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Undaunted_Courage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had 3 nights here to visit the christmas market in Gent. The location could not be better. We were lucky enough to get a parking space in the underground car park. The reception and restaurant were being renovated during our visit but the staff were all excellent. We were staying room only so the dining area being closed was no hardship for us. The room was small and dated but spotlessly clean. There are no tea making facilities so we took our own kettle,tea and coffee. No problems, pre warned thanks to other tripadviser reviews. We stayed in room 412 and had a great view over the main square and market. It was a budget hotel but clean and tidy and I would definitely stay there again if I visit Gent.

Room Tip: we stayed in 412 and the view was good, I think 10,11,and 12 any any floor would have a similar view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I planned to visit Gent and to stay a night. We were very late with our plans and when searching for a room
everything seemed to be booked out. The only hotel that had a room left was the Ibis Gent Centrum St. Baafs Kathedraal.

I’ve never stayed at an Ibis before but I know that their standards are pretty much the same everywhere. Simple, clean and no
surprises. If you book Ibis, you get Ibis. But I have to say our stay surprisingly pleasant.

This hotel is in a great location which is a huge plus. They offer parking in a small tight garage for 16 Euros per night.
There is a very good free WiFi connection which was very much appreciated.
The lobby area is warm and inviting with a small restaurant/bistro/bar that belongs to the hotel. The hotel staff is great.
Everyone was in a good mood and always smiling and joking around. Check in was super-fast and effective.

Our room was on the fourth floor with a view to the cathedral. It was very small but again, perfect or one night.
It was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.

We didn’t opt for breakfast as there are so many small cafes and restaurants outside of the hotel. Although the breakfast looked
great from walking by.

Overall, the hotel was the perfect stay for us and a pleasant surprise how easy an Ibis can be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairytella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having stayed at Ibis hotels many times previously, I knew that I would get value for money and I wasn't disappointed. The location is excellent with an underground car park, the rooms are comfortable and clean and all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Address: Limburgstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing