We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ibis hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Ibis hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. We usually book Ibis hotels for our short trips to Europe as they are great value and we are hardly in the room. This one was great value as usual, we paid £128 including city tax which I think is good considering it was a UK bank holiday and we were right in the city centre.

We arrived at around 7am and there was no parking available at the hotel - this was no surprise as the people departing on that Saturday morning had probably not left yet. We had prepared for this and researched another car park in case it happened. Check in was simple and the receptionist was very friendly offering us maps and tips for the area. A room was ready for us even at that time of the morning which we were very happy with. After dropping our bags, we headed out to explore the city - the hotel is directly opposite St.Baafs Kathedraal and we had a lovely view from the room window of it. I had read that the bells were really loud, considering we were only 30 feet across the road from it we never heard them at all when we were sleeping! Gent is a very walkable city so we had no problems finding our way and this hotel was in a great location to explore everything.

The room was very clean - it was on the small side but all Ibis hotels we have stayed in are. They have enough storage to put a couple of bags and the bed was comfortable as always. The bathroom was fine too, very clean again with enough space for a wash/make up bag etc.

We would definitely stay here again when visiting Gent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    564
    238
    58
    24
See reviews for
127
489
79
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
423 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location, helpful friendly staff (English speaking a big plus) and a small but nice room. Very good breakfast with bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, pastries and much more. It is right across from the cathedral and they really like to ring those bells, front row seat :-)
There are so many good dining options within walking distance. Our favorite was an Irish Pub, go figure!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for two very comfortable nights at the Ibis, and would recommend it, especially for it's location. Our room looked directly out at the (totally scaffold covered) cathedral and the square in front of it. (Even though we overlooked the square, the room was relatively quiet.) We were in a triple room, and the third bed was set up with its own nightstand - not a temporary rollaway. It was clean, and had a great shower! However, it would have been better to have more outlets. Each one of us had at least 3 items needing recharging, and we could find only 3 outlets -(one of which required crawling under the counter and unplugging the TV). Thankfully, we each brought a travel extension cord!
We didn't eat the breakfast, so can't comment on that. People at the front desk were courteous and very helpful, especially with the train schedule.
One of us lost her watch, and reported it when checking out. Within a day, she got an email that the watch had been found, and that they were mailing it to her! Can't get much better customer service than that!
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
774 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been staying in Ibis hotels for over 20 years now, and have never had serious cause for complaint. Efficient, simple, well-designed, pet-friendly, straightforward, helpful staff, and usually good locations, which certainly applied in this case. We never have the breakfasts - it's better value for money and more fun to go out and explore the city. And in the case of this hotel, getting in and out of the parking is a bit hair-raising because of the narrow entrance and the steep ramp. And the much-hyped new beds are indeed very comfortable

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a room facing the cathedral - worth asking for this perhaps. This mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a cyclist we stayed there for the Tour of Flanders. It had all the facilities one would wish for. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the bar and breakfast personnel. As we had breakfast on both days at 6 00am the food was fresh, good choice and just what was needed prior to a long ride.
On leaving the hotel you stepped into the Cathedral Sq which had lots of nice bars. Very central for walking around Ghent.
We were in a coach if I was in a car finding my way around the narrow central streets might have been a challenge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.1 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal

Property: Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Address: Limburgstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal hotel is located in the historic and commercial centre of Ghent, facing the cathedral, right next to historic monuments (museum, abbey, castle) and a few kilometres from the Exhibition Centre and the Convention Centre. Ideal for business and tourist stays, the hotel has 120 rooms with free WiFi internet access including three rooms for guests with limited mobility. The hotel also features a 24 hour bar. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Kathedraal Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Kathedraal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing