We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel on quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Europa Hotel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good hotel on quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Europa Hotel has been completely refurbished recently, and looks like new. Comfortable rooms and bathrooms, good bed.
Staff is friendly and efficient, the hotel serves a good breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant is good and 'value for money'. Parking is next to the hotel and free. There is free Wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    98
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
110
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Apparently the hotel was built in the late 60's and was closed 18months ago for a refurbishment. In fairness they did a brilliant job and the rooms and restaurant are high standard. It is on a canal but all that means is there are more ducks outside than if it wasn't. In fact, the canal is the most investing thing about this hotel.
Because it's just so boring!
The bar looks like an artist impression of what the bar will look like when built! You would only drink the if you have to.
Unfortunately it's a 10 min cab ride from the City so you don't exactly have a choice of local alternative bars and restaurants.
It's 4 star and probably good value for money. It's a good business hotel.
I guess if you happen to be in Belgium, by choice and like it, then you will certainly love this hotel.
Because it is just like Belgium. Boring and functional and not a destination of choice!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night and was glad to be able to park my car for free. We had a big room with a huge bed, nice bathroom and enjoyed the shower.

The breakfast was lovely, homemade jams, lots of different kinds of bread, eggs, cheese, various meat, cereal, fruit,, etc. We got served a thermos of coffee at the table and the lady at the reception was kind and helpful.

It was a bit out of the way of the centre but there's a bus 3x per hour that goes accros the street from the hotel which takes you there in 15 mins and costs €2. In the city you can buy passes for even less.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here for a month during Summer 2010. This family-owned hotel has very friendly staff who had been around forever and who really cared about customers. They also had a piano, which was convenient. The breakfast was delicious. Dinner was good, but quite pricey. Downtown is about a 10 minute walk and there's lots of things to do there. Laundry place is across the bridge.
The rooms were clean, but sometimes the bathroom really smelled. I heard they did a renovation after we left so hope everything is improved now. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkievu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My sister and I are driving thru the low countries. We needed parking but wanted access to public transportation to visit cities. This hotel is a gem. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a family owned hotel with 3 generations working here to help. Ghent is a great place to visit and enables easy access to Brugge and Brussels - yay we didn't have to drive into those cities. Google map directions to hotel were less than stellar, but once here, we were delighted. Breakfast is good and fresh. Hotel is clean and modern having been newly renovated. Wi-fi only available on ground and 1st floor - we're on 2nd, so we're spending some time in the bar. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Ghent or spend time nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Not my normal type of hotel, (a little pretentious and try hard) but as an experience, it was cool. Rooms- Real modern. Shower-turbo charged! Excellent secure parking for motorbikes. Excellent location next to river. Friendly enough staff, well, the young guy "Nik" from memory was top. Introduced me to some excellent new beers, as well as ordering me a pizza from the local take-out! Breakfast was big. Altough the young lad serving needs to learn a smile goes a long way in the service industry! Turn up late and discounts are negotiable. Big negative for me was no Wi-fi in the rooms....not a particularly clever move by whoever designed it. They offer you a cable, not much use for iPads and iPhones mind you!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liepaja, Latvia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Walking distance from the station, newly refurbished, superb (very, very good) breakfast + all is family run. Walking distance also from the main attractions of Gent (just stay by the river). Very good restaurant to dine at. This is not a three but at least a four star service / package.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanka_Latvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Sint Pieters
NH Gent Sint Pieters
#19 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#9 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Property: Europa Hotel
Address: Gordunakaai 59, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy family-run hotel, quiet and yet centrally situated. Completely renovated, re-opened since the 5th of May 2011. At 800 m from St. Pieters’ Station (main station), 1,5 km from the city-centre. Public transport to the city centre at 400 m from the hotel. Easy access to the motorways E17 and E40. Close to Flanders Expo and the Congress centre. The hotel is overlooking the ‘Golden River’, the Leie and is located near the Watersportbaan and the Blaarmeersen and the Topsporthal. The hotel also offers you parking facilities - there’s private parking next to the hotel as well as an underground garage. 41 comfortable rooms, fully equipped with private bathrooms with bath or shower, telephone for local communication and abroad, colour television with remote control, etc…24 hour service! Free Wifi in the lobby, bar and rooms. Bistro Gorduna offers lunch and dinner with a daily menu or "a la carte." Bistro closed on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. 4 Meeting rooms with a capacity of 5 to 280 persons, perfect for seminars, congresses, business lunches, conferences, banquets and other arrangements. In a word, our hotel offers you a cocktail of hospitality, comfort and modern facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing