We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly practical hotel & large spacious room and bathroom”
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Good off road parking and an easy walk or bus or tram ride into the beautiful part of Gent. Rooms have all you require, they're very modern, clean and practical with all the fittings you need in a pleasant and spacious room. There's no historic architecture or traditional features here, but you get lots of space. Breakfast is quite good but staff struggled to keep up with on the morning we were there. Otherwise service was quite good and we got a recommendation to a great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Snaz,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have heard from colleagues who have stayed here, that they were treated like royalty as they were recognised as returning and welcome guests. Unfortunately, they do not extend this courtesy to new guests, therefore makig it very hard to want to return there in the first place.
In the past, one could recognise an establishment by its name, a Motel was a roadside hotel, an Inn was a minimalistic hotel, a bed & breakfast was exactly that, with your homely comforts and a hotel was something for the rich and famous, really luxurious.
This accommodation calls itself Europa hotel, but to me although the rooms were nicely refurbished, felt more like an expensive B&B. No coffee and tea making facilities in the room or safety deposit box, TV remote barely functioned and was hard to change channel, no door from the shower, therefore the floor became very wet and extremely slippery. The first night I was so tired I put my head down and fell right asleep. The second night however, I was waken up by noise and felt it very hard to fall back to sleep. There are lights all over the room, that light up at night, it's at a noisy location, the slamming doors don't help and although the windows were closed (I checked twise), there was still a lot of noise coming from outside.
The service at breakfast was appaling, almost rude and yet there were three people giggling with each other. The hotel has three stars, but they have some things to sort out and in a three star hote one could expect at least coffee and tea making facilities and a safety deposit box. What a contrast with the three star hotel we stayed at for a family trip the weekend before at lake Como.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, where there are fewer doors that can slam shut. Don't bother be friendly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Respectful of Personal Privacy
No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be used to identify an individual is prohibited.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site.

Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]




---original management response-----

Subject: Europa Hotel
Location: Ghent
Title: Owner response
ID#: 163642295

Dear Mr Urdorf,

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking te time to write a review.
We are sorry that you weren't happy with your stay here.
However, there is a safety deposit box at reception, free of charge, and we would have gladly given you a new remote controle when asked for.

If our staff wasn't helpfull or friendly enough , we do appolgize and we will look into the matter.

Regards,
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Everything! Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel room was comfortable, nice en-suit bathroom facilities, clean and modern.
Extensive breakfast. Not too far to walk into centre and train station with easy access to Brugge or Brussels. Parking good.
Good value for money. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Europa Hotel has been completely refurbished recently, and looks like new. Comfortable rooms and bathrooms, good bed.
Staff is friendly and efficient, the hotel serves a good breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant is good and 'value for money'. Parking is next to the hotel and free. There is free Wifi in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Apparently the hotel was built in the late 60's and was closed 18months ago for a refurbishment. In fairness they did a brilliant job and the rooms and restaurant are high standard. It is on a canal but all that means is there are more ducks outside than if it wasn't. In fact, the canal is the most investing thing about this hotel.
Because it's just so boring!
The bar looks like an artist impression of what the bar will look like when built! You would only drink the if you have to.
Unfortunately it's a 10 min cab ride from the City so you don't exactly have a choice of local alternative bars and restaurants.
It's 4 star and probably good value for money. It's a good business hotel.
I guess if you happen to be in Belgium, by choice and like it, then you will certainly love this hotel.
Because it is just like Belgium. Boring and functional and not a destination of choice!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night and was glad to be able to park my car for free. We had a big room with a huge bed, nice bathroom and enjoyed the shower.

The breakfast was lovely, homemade jams, lots of different kinds of bread, eggs, cheese, various meat, cereal, fruit,, etc. We got served a thermos of coffee at the table and the lady at the reception was kind and helpful.

It was a bit out of the way of the centre but there's a bus 3x per hour that goes accros the street from the hotel which takes you there in 15 mins and costs €2. In the city you can buy passes for even less.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here for a month during Summer 2010. This family-owned hotel has very friendly staff who had been around forever and who really cared about customers. They also had a piano, which was convenient. The breakfast was delicious. Dinner was good, but quite pricey. Downtown is about a 10 minute walk and there's lots of things to do there. Laundry place is across the bridge.
The rooms were clean, but sometimes the bathroom really smelled. I heard they did a renovation after we left so hope everything is improved now. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and had a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkievu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 38 in Ghent
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Address: Gordunakaai 59, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy family-run hotel, quiet and yet centrally situated. Completely renovated, re-opened since the 5th of May 2011. At 800 m from St. Pieters’ Station (main station), 1,5 km from the city-centre. Public transport to the city centre at 400 m from the hotel. Easy access to the motorways E17 and E40. Close to Flanders Expo and the Congress centre. The hotel is overlooking the ‘Golden River’, the Leie and is located near the Watersportbaan and the Blaarmeersen and the Topsporthal. The hotel also offers you parking facilities - there’s private parking next to the hotel as well as an underground garage. 41 comfortable rooms, fully equipped with private bathrooms with bath or shower, telephone for local communication and abroad, colour television with remote control, etc…24 hour service! Free Wifi in the lobby, bar and rooms. Bistro Gorduna offers lunch and dinner with a daily menu or "a la carte." Bistro closed on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. 4 Meeting rooms with a capacity of 5 to 280 persons, perfect for seminars, congresses, business lunches, conferences, banquets and other arrangements. In a word, our hotel offers you a cocktail of hospitality, comfort and modern facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing