We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and a comfortable bed”
Review of La Ducale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Ducale
Ranked #95 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location and a comfortable bed”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

So we spent 4 nights in the Ducale for a long weekend in Ghent. The owners are very friendly and overall we are very pleased that we stayed there. We stayed in the comfort room, and the bed was really comfy, and it was very quiet at night.

The location is spotless, you are about a 5 minute walk away from St Baafs and the Beltower, and Ghent is such a stunning city that you are very pleased to be very close to it.

We had a slight problem with the shower, but we let the owners know and it was fixed by the time we got back to our room.

The breakfast was really nice, and we learnt to look forward to it!

Some people may not like this as it was not a luxury hotel, there is some work that needs doing in the bathroom. There is no room service but I'm sure that if you asked the owners they would do anything to make your stay comfortable.

I would recommend this place to people who just want to have a reasonably-priced and comfortable stay in Ghent.


I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The comfort room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    20
    17
    20
See reviews for
10
41
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night at La Ducale in September 2012. This B&B is very centrally located, and provides a good value for the price. It is easy to miss - we walked by a few times before we noticed the bell and the little sign beside it. The owner is a very nice lady, helpful and cheerful. She showed us to the room and gave us a map of the city. The only option to pay for this accommodation is in cash, so get some cash ready if you stay at this place.

We got a room on the 2 floor of the building (the B&B is a multi-story apartment, with the owners living on site). No elevator - which did not bother us at all as we were backpacking and had very little luggage to carry. The room was very basic, no frills whatsoever, not even an electric kettle, super-weak Wi-Fi and the shower that took some skill not to spill all over the tiny bathroom (no shower curtain). But the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast next morning was quite good as well: eggs, soft bread, cheese, butter, cold cuts, orange juice and coffee (to be honest, the coffee was quite bad, around 10 on my scale of badness - something along the lines of weak drip coffee made of the cheapest coffee on the market). The owner offered second helpings of everything, which we did not need as what we got was quite sufficient.

If we wanted to stay in Ghent for a few days, and also to have some comfort during our stay, we would have picked a different place. But for one night's rest, this B&B provided a perfect combination of location and price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We rented a room at this B&B. A local friend luckily took the trouble of doing a 'pre-inspection' of the room and, not being satisfied with the standards of the rooms, reported to us that he had re-negotiated for us to be given an 'upgrade' instead, one of the apartments the owners 'renovated' - read "make look good at first impression" - in a house just across the road.

The place is simply an insult to Belgian hospitality (and I am a Belgian!).

I can simply suggest you to read all other negative experiences expressed in all other TripAdvisor Reviews about La Ducale:
We, and the other occupants at the same time we came across and whom we asked for feed back, experienced all of them: No soap anywhere (WC, bathroom, kitchen), dirty floors and kitchen (and we saw the ‘cleaners’ leaving!), NO curtains in bathroom (just a clear, wide window), no proper curtains in the bedroom, just a cloth hanging over the (permanently open) window, dirty linen and in too short supply, no mattress covers, old bread for breakfast, no lift but 59 steps to get to the top floor, rubbish piled together on the landing next to the top floor apartment, rotting smell (no surprise there), NO cheap car park close to La Ducale, but, contrary to La Ducale’s own description, in reality a 20 minutes walk away (nearby car park cost £14.50/day !), poor facilities to load/unload your car at La Ducale, creepy crawlies which leave skin bites in the morning, ...

The couple who own the place has definitely no intention to improve the situation, as can be concluded from the dates the previous similarly negative reviews are written and posted on TripAdvisor .

We simply decided to decant La Ducale after a few hours, and moved 150 metres down the same street, towards the Cathedral, to the IBIS Hotel (there are 2 of them in the Centre of Ghent/Gent, both very well located, if not better than La Ducale), where a very friendly and efficient receptionist gave us the last last-minute room, although smaller than the ‘apartments’ at La Ducale, much cheaper, cleaner and quieter than La Ducale (I love the sound of the Cathedral bells on opening the window).

Breakfast was enjoyed Al Fresco on one of the many heated terraces just opposite the IBIS.
I still love Ghent!

Room Tip: Read my review please and stay out of there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelexperience52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were spending one night in Ghent for a reunion and La Ducale was about the only reasonably priced accomodation we could find. The location was great, very central. The beds were not made up when we arrived but as we were early it didnt matter but when we returned at 6pm to shower before dinner the beds were still unmade and we had no towels. The beds were made up later and were clean and comfortable when went to bed. Breakfast was meant to be in the fridge but we had no bread for the cheese and hams provided. The toilet had too little toilet paper and the milk was sour. We phoned and the owner came round about half an hour later but wasnt particularly apologetic. All in all it was fine but we were irritated at having to pay to be inconvenienced.

Room Tip: Basic, good location, nothing to write home about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colcropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After annoying slow train journey from bruges we arrived in gent, pie eyed from the night before. We took a taxi from the gent station to the hotel which cost 10 euro between 3 of us, which in general consensus was deemed reasonable value by the group. On arrival to the appartments/hotel/B&B we walked in and up some stairs and banged on the door marked 'office', after about 5 mins of banging an italian man with heavily gelled hair appeared from the stairs looking at us in a partially confused manner. we showed him our reservation and he explained that we were in the wrong building and this wasn't a hotel, but infact La Ducale was next door...woops.

When we did ring the bell for La ducale there was no answer. I rang the number on the door and the hotel manager seemed flustered and didn't expect our arrival. We ate an overpriced margeritta whilst we waited cooked by the italian fella who pointed out we were in the wrong building several minutes earlier. After the pizza had been eaten and afew glasses of Jupiler had been consumed we rang the bell again the manager answered. By the look of him, he enjoyed a good glass of port but was a very friendly chap and apologised for the error. we showed me to the room, a very nice appartment style building on the 3rd floor which was clean and spacious. He asked us to keep the room tidy and think he was abit nervous about the large Keg of jupiler we had brought with us on arrival. We had to pay in cash which was abit annoying as i had to go down the road to withdraw when all i wanted to do was relax and get the keg flowing, but it wasnt a major issue.

We got ready for the night out in the apartment, polished off the keg, had a nice shower and moved out to the last night gent ten day festival (a must do, the whole city was alive till the early hours). there was only one key to the apartment at La Ducale which was taken by a member of our group (Dufrais) as he left the gent festival early to catch some shut eye. However this proved a huge problem, as when the rest of our firm arrived back at La Ducale the door had locked behind him and he had decided to turn his phone off and shut the windows. WE WERE STRANDED. Reality hit home...we could be spending the night on the streets of gent!! We paniced, started to bellow DUFRAISSS as loud as we could but there was still sign of movement from the selfish camper. then we found our saving graces, an orange and a coca cola bottle, was it fate? After around 20 minutes of pelting these items at the windows of our appartment (and some of the others due to bad drunker aim) we finally woke Dufrais and made it in at 6am! after a small cerfuffle throwing his matress on the floor and some heated words we got to bed for a good 4 hours sleep.

upon waking it was great to find a tray of cheese and cold meats in the fridge with some bread also, the soft cheese was especially nice!! the breakfast was a little small for 6 of us so we banned Dufrais from eating any after his antics the night before! The beer we drank also meant we the toilet was used heavily and not long after waking the last of the toilet roll had been used with no spares in the whole apartment!! this proved problematic, but using the shower in a Bidet-esq fashion was a fair compromise.

When checking out the manager said he'd had afew complaints about us from other guests, but i don't think this was much our fault as the one key and self locking doors caused the issue along with Dufrais' ignorance!.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Last week I stayed in La Ducale for one night, and though I have travelled to many poor countries, I never slept in such dirty sheets as in La Ducale.
I choose La Ducale because it is really in the centre of Ghent. The location is just perfect. That is not the case for the accomodation, though it has just been refurbished. When I arrived they said I had to go to the other side of the street. There was a big appartment on the third floor (no elevator). I noticed many spots on the floor and a big one on the wall. Unfortunately I didn't take a look at the sheets on the bed.

When I returned to my room in the night, I discovered someone else already slept in those sheets.There was a spot of blood under my pillow, and the bed was full of man's hair! Since there was nobody available in the house, I couldn't even ask someone for new sheets.

When I wanted to take a shower in the morning, I discovered that there was a big window in the bathroom without any curtain. On the other side of the street is a big building so no privacy at all.

When I sent a mail to complain about this, I received no reaction.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Although we booked and received email confirmation in advance for a 5 bed apartment at La Ducale, when we arrived at 4pm the owner had no recollection of our booking and we had to hang around for 2 hours for the owners to prepare the apartment. The accommodation was extremely minimal with scuff marks all over the walls and very thin floors, we could hear everything the party of people upstairs were saying like they were in the same room. The breakfast was also very minimal, basically comprising a tiny piece of cheese and ham each, a yoghurt and some sliced not very fresh bread, plus a cheap carton of orange juice. The coffee machine had a fault which caused it to overflow all over the kitchen and there was nothing to mop it up with. The baby cot completely fell to pieces and was a serious hazard but we were informed by the owner that we had no alternative but to use it. To top it all we were all covered with insect bites overnight which still haven't gone a week later. Ghent itself is a beautiful town it's just a shame we were let down by the accommodation. The location is good and easy to walk everywhere but it was noisy due to the restaurant below, the constant trams and traffic outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrays2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Hotel the Boatel
Hotel the Boatel
#18 of 37 in Ghent
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Quatre Mains Logis
Quatre Mains Logis
#80 of 116 in Ghent
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ducale

Property: La Ducale
Address: Vlaanderenstraat 54, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Ducale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing