We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the little hike out of town...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volta

Volta
Ranked #60 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worth the little hike out of town...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ghent has been making an enormous effort to attract and keep young chefs. In the past ten years the number of really good restaurants has increased substantially, and Volta can definitely be added to the list. We had planned to go to this place for quite a while, and finally got invited here. It turned out to be an excellent experience. We took the apero on the terrace. Already then we were confronted with the inventiveness of the chef, a couple of small starters of which I thought the ice cube of GT to be superb. The menu consisted of 6-7 different dishes. All very well prepared and proportioned, as well as a great combination of fish and meat. The wine list is probably what made the meal complete. Some French household names, but many wines of the world, which made it a true discovery. We finished off with some GT; they definitely have some of the largest varieties I have seen in a restaurant. Then again, they have a bar on the first floor which was closed that night. All this time we had good service, which perhaps at times needs to be more attentive. We happened to ask for wine more than once. It perhaps kept our bill down, but it is probably the only minor point I could mention together with the moment they started cleaning the kitchen... which you can see very well as it is all glass windows on the kitchen. While the cooking happened, it was great to witness, but we were all still eating when the cleaning started... Dining is also visual, and doesn't come with Mr Proper... Nevertheless I can certainly say we will be back here. It was a wonderful evening, and would certainly recommend to make the little detour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    86
    31
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This good restaurant was recommended by a colleague who used to work near Ghent.
The menu is in Flemish only. However, the waiters are fluent in English and very helpful.
The meal was at 13:00 and it was obvious that this time is mainly for business. There were only a few couples.
The waiter asked if we were in a hurry as many people like to talk and relax over lunch. To be honest we were in the restaurant for 2 hours and a few of groups who were already seated when we arrived were still there when we left.
We had the set menu which included as part of the starter, raw fish, beetroot and some interesting side dishes. We had neck of pork for the main which was lovely, but a little bit fatty which is expected for this cut of meat. I had cheeses for desert which were unusual and nice. My colleagues had different deserts which they both also liked. The meal price was reasonable at 140euros for 3 peoples which included 3 glasses of bubbly and a bottle of wine. I would go back next time when passing Ghent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this and probably ranked in my personal top ten of dining experienced.

We took the full dinner menu and as I am allergic to dairy and lactose intollerant i was very curious how they would handle this. When booking out table for 5 they said I could just say it at the table when ordering the food to what I was allergic. And YES indeed, so we did and the chef adapted every single dish so I could just order the same menu as the rest of my table.

The food was amazing. Some unusual combinations but explosions of flavour.
Good service as well. Highly recommendable place !

Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious and original food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good atmosphere, great food, superb setting, good wines, friendly service...We had a very good diner there and will certainly go back! Very nice bar also....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crazytraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful building, improve the service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were here for a leisurely lunch and by the end, the delicious food almost made up for the disappointingly slow and inefficient service. We had to wait (no exaggeration) 10-15 minutes to take our initial drink order, and as long for it to arrive and had to prompt the staff on numerous occasions throughout the meal when asking for things. The restaurant was relatively busy, but not overwhelmingly so - at no point did we receive even so much as an apology for the lack of attention - the staff seemed rather disinterested. Not expected for this level of establishment and price. Such a shame.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VagabondGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volta also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Volta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing