We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you find gorgeous hotel in Gent, This hotel is an answer !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This Hotel is so gorgeous.

We had stayed in Michelin designer's Hotel in Trier, Germany, But Sandton Grand hotel Reylof was more splendid than Michelin designer's Hotel.

Hotel reception was so fancy. The staffs were so generous.

The room condition was very clean. Very Modern style & spotless.

We had breakfast at the restaurant. The food was so various and high quality.

If you have a car, you can park in Ramen public parking lot. Reasonable parking fee.

We stayed in Europe for 10 days - Germany, Swiss, France, Belgium. Wifi status was the best in Belgium.

You can use your Wifi notebook easily in Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof.

A small problem of this hotel is a little far from the center of the city,But It took about five minutes from the center of the city .

At night, It was dark around the hotel. So I think it's better not to go out at late night for your safety.

We were so satisfied with this hotel condition. We want to recommend strongly with confidence !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevin1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 3,481 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

The SANDTON it is a fine hotel! It is centrally located in Ghent and very near the centre. The reception staff were very courteous and friendly. We could find little to gripe about.

We had a very spacious room indeed.Those at in the courtyard and at the rear are almost totally silent. The beds and pillows are absolutely first-class, which is not the case and most hotel rooms these days. The walk-in shower room is superb but the only odd feature is that there are no hangers on any wall or door, either in the bathroom or in the room itself.

The restoration of this very elegant hotel is very classy;however, that the main restaurant quite out of character in its attempt to be trendy.

Whereas the price for the room was quite reasonable, that for breakfast was rather over the top at 20 Euros.The main dinner menu was also rather pricey! You could eat out in most bistros overlooking the river for much less.

All in all, we would recommend the hotel quite strongly.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights in this hotel for a city trip. It is brand new and attractively designed in a modern but cozy style. We reserved a junior suite which was wonderful and featured a large free-standing bathtub in the main room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old city center and there are tram stops nearby. The breakfast buffet was good. We had one dinner at the restaurant which was excellent, albeit expensive. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The only caveat was the lack of a spa or gym but we were told this is to be added soon.

All in all our stay at the Sandton in Ghent was a very good experience. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: A junior suite is a good buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeeThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was traveling for business. Had a lovely stay, all the staff is über friendly. I loved the decoration in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carines210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel is in the final stages of a massive renovation. while keeping to the historic character of the city and the building from outside the inside of the hotel is gone chic and modern.

Some of the staff were still in a training stage therefore I had an issue with my room key card keeping me locked out every evening for the full duration of the stay....

Gent is such a beautiful city with so many things to do u will not have time to enjoy the hotel as much as u would like.. the Breakfast was basic but the personal attention given by the restaurant staff was commendable.

My bed was too soft therefore i had back pain after the first night. also the fumes of the freshly pained hallways got to me after sometime.. hope they will improve in time..

will stay again if I come to Gent...

Room Tip: the top floors dont have a good view as they are a kind of an attic conversion with regards to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nice location of the hotel, close to the centre with it's own parking facilities. The hotel was not finished yet, which showed in the hotel and in the room. The room itself was lovely, with a big walk-in shower and a very comfortable bed.

The food in the restaurant was top notch, had a great dinner there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is in a historical building , and the location is very good. You can walk for 3-5 min and arrive in the old city district where are a lot of terraces , pubs , restaurant . You can visit the old castel and the ghent cathedral . The rooms of the hotel are impressive , very , very big and each a little different ( in mine the bed was 40 cm upper than the room . please check the pics ) . Only small problem was that the new wing is still under construction , and we have seen some workers and building materials in the undergrounf parking , but besides this , you do not feel like there is a renovation site nearby . The breakfast was good and you have free WI FI in the rooms .When we arrive at 12 .30 pm our room was not ready but this I think can happen in any hotel from time to time so it is not neccesary a problem that you should take into consideration .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £96 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing