We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a very good hotel. And the certainly read the reviews on this site because I was told that the water in the minibar was free on three separate occasions and I was given the access code for the free WiFi as soon as I arrived (see the comments of others below)!

I loved the decor ... although it won't appeal to all tastes. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were a little more hit and miss. Those on reception were brilliant. Those in the bar proved to be very inattentive at times. And my other niggle is that if a hotel says that breakfast will start at 06:30 it should be ready at 06:30 and not still be being set up. I was particularly disappointed by the way one waiter off-handedly told me to wait when I enquired where the coffee was when I came down to breakfast at 06:30.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    937
    154
    32
    11
See reviews for
359
1,887
70
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great hotel: high class hotel, but you feel at home staying there.
Great service: the reception was nice. free wifi, free water from minibar. the service in restaurant and the bar was excellent.
Good location: a few minutes walking from the center. some people might complain about the walking distance, but it's not that far, really.

my room: Charme Rooms. With bath/shower. Laminate floor, 3rd floor, facing inner garden, with balcony. TV channel is good.

Improvement: I could hear footsteps from upstairs. I heard a lady with heels walking around, and a child running around. Noisy/not soundproof enough. my room has a laminate floor but we did not get any slippers. so it was not nice walking in the room. The bathroom in my room has no door, the toilet has a door though. If someone open the front door while i was in the shower, he/she could see me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nizzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Recently refurbished and with new parts added, this is a stylish hotel with quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and modern. The only possible criticism would be the slow service in the bar in the evenings, only one bar man covering the whole restaurant and bar area. We paid 300 Euros for two nights in a small room with no breakfast. Did include parking and a 30 Euro bar bill. If you want a nice coffee and croissant in the morning check out the cafe over the road on the corner of Hoogstraat and Oude Houtlei.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed here last night and enjoyed it so much.
On arriving at the hotel the check in and service was excellent; quick, professional, and the offer of free tickets and transport to an art exhibition.
The decor throughout the whole building is stunning. It is really modern but also relaxed and informal.
We had a deluxe room which had some great touches. Great bathroom, lovely robes, good size bed. My only slight gripe would be that it was quite small.
It was a short walk to the centre for dinner, and then we came back to the hotel for cocktails which were fabulous.
Breakfast was very good and was included in the price.
I very much recommend this hotel. We boked through hotels.com which i believe had a special offer. It really has exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford,
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is a hotel that is relatively new in Ghent. Some rooms are under construction, as well as the Wellness Centre. There is very little to fault here. As has been pointed out, the staff don't tell you that water is free in the minibar. There was a smell of gas in the Living Room, which more than one guest complained about. They then switched off the gas fire. The hotel certainly fills a need for a big central hotel with all facilities.
I cannot comment on the restaurant as I didn't use it. I will go back there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof is amazing. We missed our turn off coming into Ghent and ended up down near the railway station. Walked to the hotel, and was greeted by Nicholas (sorry if I've spelt your name wrong) who gave us very precise instructions on how to get our car from where we had parked to the hotel, said if he wasn't so busy at reception he would have come with us, and I believe he would have. The room and the staff were excellent at this hotel and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here when in Ghent. We will definitely be back next time we're in Ghent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel for a city break in Ghent - particularly if you have your own car (otherwise it would be quite a walk to the historic centre). The hotel is lovely - and looks even better than the pictures. We had a Junior Suite and a Deluxe room, and both were gorgeous. Roomy, atmospheric, clean and good quality decor and finishes. Loved the free-standing bath in the suite. The walk-in shower in both rooms was great too, but the towels could have been slightly bigger.
The lady on reception was enormously helpful - and went to a lot of trouble to help us with extra beds/bedding for our 2 small boys.Breakfast on the pricey side but underground parking (12.50 per night) reasonable. Would have been delighted to stay longer!

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite if you can - the freestanding bath is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing