We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Treat yourself and book this hotel, or do all you can to find a good rate and stay here; I'll be surprised if you regret it.

It's situated in a quiet part of Gent but only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. The conversion of the hotel has left many of the original architectural mouldings, paintings etc in tact whilst adding bold modern features such as the cocktail bar.

The room I had was amazing and had its own balcony overlooking the grassed central courtyard bar. Breakfast is truly international and offers something for everyone. I didn't get to use the spa on this stay, although it looked superb.

The hotel is stylish and elegant and provides a haven from the busy tourist filled areas of town, I look forward to staying here many more times in future.

One tip is to avoid using the parking garage. There is a public car park 'Ramen' at the rear of the hotel that offers parking for a third of the hotel price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    932
    153
    32
    11
See reviews for
359
1,871
69
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

fantastic experience in Ghent. Incredible room (deluxe room) . enormous balcony on 2 sides of the room with a great view on the garden and the architectural façade of the original part of the building. Nice furniture , very relaxing lighting. Everything is out of your view, wardrobe/dressing and safe/minibar behind a door . Very nice bathroom with walkin/shower . Really the best bed we ever slept in!
Breakfast, too much to choose from!
Staff very friendly, discreet, helpfull, efficient.
Located at a 5min walk to the centre of historic Ghent. You will enjoy a great town to visit, nice restaurants and the best hotel to stay in.
I'll be back

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony with view on the garden. We stayed in deluxe-room (288)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sealion1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Visiting the historic city of Ghent, do yourself a favor, pamper yourself and stay at the Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof. Or if you would like to stay away from the bustle and hassle of Brussels, choose this property as a staging ground for your visits to Bruges, Antwerp or Brussels. You won't be disappointed. The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly, my room was ready and available upon an early arrival from the Brussels airport after a transatlantic flight. My room was very large and luminous: a corner room with a large L-shaped furnished terrace overlooking a centennial flowery chestnut tree. All the comfort and amenities you might expect from this category hotel, and an exceptional breakfast buffet featuring all sorts of freshly baked multi-grain breads, croissants, yoghourt and fresh fruits, cold cuts, eggs and bacon. Understated elegance, blending sleek contemporary decor and art in a historic townhouse.

Room Tip: My room featured a very large bathroom (walk-in shower) with private toilet. Not all bathrooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have stayed several times in this hotel, and I can call it allmost perfect. It is a relative new hotel, which you can clearly see. Everything has been well taken care of , and it is spotless clean. The building itself is also beautiful. Free wifi + bottles of water are a nice plus! Location is nothing to complain about, just a few minutes from the main square.

The rooms are of great size, however if I have to put some improvement points on paper these will be:
- No coffee/Tea facilities in the room. Quite weird, since it's a 4*... I hope management understands that this is a simply and cost efficient improvement.
- No iron facilities. I was here for business, and this is something they have to do something about!! I simply can not understand the fact a hotel will not have ironing facilities.. Please Sandton, improve on this.. However, holiday makers shouldnt be to worried..
- TV reception: Not all channels work, either the sound does not work, or the channels simply dont work. Overall good variety of TV channels though (best I've seen in Belgium!)

Before I get to picky I can only say one thing.. If you go to Belgium book this great hotel. I paid 100 euro/night which is very acceptable!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoutAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We just spent two nights at this hotel. The location was good but not great. It is about 4 blocks from the main canal and market center so not too bad. The room was very nice with all the ameneties. The staff was very friendly and helpful plus spoke excellent English. They had a great underground parking lot that was very secure. The rooms were air conditioned and we needed it during our stay. Down comforter on the bed was awesome.

The included breakfast was fantastic. They had the usual European breakfast fare of cold cuts, cheeses, lots of different breads and pastries, local seasonal jams that were terrific. My favorite was the Pumpkin Jam which I had never tasted. In addition to typical fare, they had hot scrambled eggs, Bangers, mushrooms and tomatoes plus bacon. One of the best breakfast layouts I've encountered in Europe over the years. A really nice surprise.

The only reason I didn't rate this hotel 5 stars was the restaurant offerings for lunch and dinner. We had two hamburgers upon our arrival because we were quite tired after the long flight and drive and wanted something quick and easy. The burgers were fair at best and the bill was $40.00 Euros. We perused the dinner menu and were blown away by the prices so we passed on eating any additional meals there. I'm no tightwad but hate feeling like I'm being taken advantage of.

We did, however, find a new restaurant directly across the street from the hotel that was over the top great with much more reasonable prices. It was only their second day being open but the food was great and the prices reasonable. The name of it was Le Duc and it's directly across the street from the hotel.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great people make for a great stay and everyone we encountered was a pleasure to deal with. We would stay here again if visiting Gent in the future.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend taking one of the many small boat tours of Gent. Takes about an hour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is brand new and beautifully designed. The rooms are modern yet with enough older elements to give them a great deal of character; they feel warm and cool at the same time. The location is perfect. Extremely close to all the action without being right in it. And the lounge is a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing and have a cocktail (though you should not do so at the expense of seeing Gent at night when it is all lit up). Our second night there was Easter Sunday and instead of looking around for someplace to eat we decided to try the hotel restaurant. The service seemed a bit overwhelmed by what may have been an unexpected number of guests that night, but the food was excellent, and the servers were extremely nice. The atmosphere could not have been more lovely--may have been the most beautiful room in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohorolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

LOCATION
The hotel is located just west of the historic city centre. The Graslei and the belfries are just 5 - 10 mins walk away.

ROOMS
Rooms can vary quite a bit in size and design. Ours was very spacious with a red color sheme and had a modern and trendy feel to it. Some rooms have a small balcony. Bathroom has bath and shower.

FACILITIES
The Grand Reylof has a lovely patio garden which leads to the spa area. The spa has a swimming pool, sauna and Turkish steam bath. Massage services are offered. All public areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean.

The hotel also has a very modern, trendy and colorfull feel to it. The hallways and other public areas are tastefulle decorated and styled. The restaurant, especially, is gorgeous.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast is extensive (one of the largest breakfast buffets I have seen) and is served in the most beautiful room of the hotel.

Room Tip: The size of the rooms can vary quite a bit. Be sure to ask for a large room. You can park much c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickdillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing