We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great hotel in center of town! Good connections with public transfers! Friendly people at the desk. Beautifull rooms at the gardenside. Old building, but modern inside! Very good service. Wellness included. Swimmingpool, fitness, sauna! Old grandeur in a modern inside! Lot's of choises at breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms at garden side are more quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 3,481 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in the Reylof hotel for one night. Something went wrong with the online booking (were booked for Kortrijk) but the staff of both Kortrijk and Gent set things right.
We parked the car underneath the hotel and were checked in correctly. Our deluxe room was very spatious (28m2), had a perfect bed and great rain shower. We took an excellent breakfast outside in the garden.

The hotel is the place to stay in Gent. It opened only recently (April 2012) and offers best value for money if you compare with the other hotels of this category. Easy to reach and within walking distance (10') from the city center.

Only remark: our booking was not added to our savings account. So far nothing has been done with our e-mail about this .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPP104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Somehow I got a room in this hotel for 100 euros a night, booking the day before. Do people not go to Ghent in July? I don't think so; the streets are busy. The hotel is luxurious. It feels like a fancy place for the well-to-do. The room is modern and well equipped. The bed comfortable. The bathroom updated. The location is great, on a quietish street very close to the center. Free wifi. Breakfast is not included, and there is no where to make a cup of tea. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank annaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here while on a long weekend trip in Gent last October. Was deciding between this hotel or Marriott and was really glad that we chose this in the end. This is a really lovely, elegant boutique hotel. It was really new then and some parts of the hotel, such as the spa, were still under construction. We had the standard room, which was of good size and very tastefully and luxuriously furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the courtyard, so it was pretty quiet. The bathroom, though a little small, had a nice shower area and was also beautifully decorated. Parking was also available in the garage under the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and the buffet had a nice spread, although at that time, they seemed a little short handed and the food wasn't always timely replenished.

The hotel has a good location at the edge of the city centre, about 5-10 min walk to the main city area, across the bridge, past the river.

Would highly recommend this hotel, especially to couples looking for a romantic city getaway. We definitely won't hesitate to stay here again in future!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MochaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Ehm...what else is there to tell then?
The hotel has a parking but not that much space in the garage (you cannot reserve it); nevertheless i was lucky i found a spot).
Reception was OK, the (standard) room was nice, very comfy bed! After having taken the wrong elevator, we finally reached our room (hallways, hallways.....)
Walk to the city's beautiful buildings is a mere 5 minute walk (straight out of the door, take a left). Prefer Gent over Brugge, byt the way.
I would return here if I would go to gent again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel. My room was 309 and it was very clean and extremely warm and cozy. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. When I arrived at the hotel, the Front Office Manager was there to help his staff. He was very professional, friendly and had a charisma that showed his knowledge of the hotel business. The breakfast was good; the eggs were sublime and the breads very tasty, only the bacon was a bit over cooked. Also, the cocktail bar, N'Joy, is superb, a special reward to the Bar Manager, her cocktails were like nectar, all drinks of gods!

Overall I had a fantastic stay at this hotel and I will come back real soon!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FienDuyvejonck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed one night and found this hotel to be luxurious by our standards. The room was large and clean, the staff was helpful and friendly and the location was convenient. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £96 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing