We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Luxurious grandeur”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

An elegant and aptly named grand hotel which was once the residence of a wealthy family.You are greeted by marble columns and glinting chandeliers.Step beyond the grand rooms and the hotel beomes a slick and ultra modern space with a fabulous restaurant on site.It's worth making sure breakfast is included as it was the most amazing selection catering for all tastes.
The spa is situated within the old coach house and has a fabulous hammam,sauna and pool with a current and jacuzzi built into it.
Couldn't fault this amazing hotel and would stay there again in a shot!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    935
    153
    32
    11
See reviews for
359
1,881
69
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Reylof is undoubtedly beautiful but that is useless when service is non-existing.
The price is good tho.

There is no temp parking in front and no valet so you are forced to park on the sidewalk or bus stop which is illegal (I specifically chose this hotel for valet and parking as I'm on the road for a month thru various countries so tons of luggage.)
Then the reception desk person reluctantly walks with you to the car to take your luggage and direct you to the car park. There is never anyone at concierge desk. You get no help with luggage.

Staff members are few and far between.

The mini bar is not refilled and when I asked they sent the boy who is checking people into the restaurant. I found a half empty bottle of wine in the mini bar.

The food in the restaurant is excellent. The staff is not so friendly, the woman with glasses is particularly unfriendly, it seems the lower in 'rank' the friendlier they are.

But for the price I guess it's good. The room is beautiful and functional too. It's clean.

For the price it's good, but I'd prefer it if it looked less funky but service would be better and more client friendly.

Room Tip: Don't expect valet or temp parking in front. All rooms seem beautiful. No service whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were only supposed to stay in Ghent for 1 night only, but we fell in love with the City and with this Hotel that we stayed for 3 nights instead.
The location was ideal. Good neighborhood. Lots of restaurants nearby. Just a few minutes walk away from the city center. Friendly staff, clean hotel, good facilities, really gorgeous hotel in and out and is really worth the price.
It definitely made our stay in Ghent extra special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lany0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel with character. Its a old world building with all modern facilities and brand new rooms with a lot of emphasis on art and deco.. they have really gone the extra mile to make this hotel an experience its self.

Its walking distance to the center of Ghent and the river with the boating tours etc etc. they have a nice outdoor court yard for u to have a cup of tea or read a book.

the wellness center is a bit too small for a good experience i would say but over all its a good hotel.

the bed for far too soft and this created a back ache for me on the 2nd night. Also the room lighting is complicated and needs a bit of studying to get the maximum use.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a firm bed or u will get extra soft beds what will sink u in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel, we stayed in a deluxe room, which was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have stay ed in. Lots of space a huge bed and large bathroom, with walk in shower. We only stayed one night but will most likely return and use the spa facilites next time.

My jeep wouldn't fit into the underground carpark due to the roofbox so I had to park on the road and use the parking meter, I had to go to the local spar shop to get change as they wouldn't give me any change at repection!

The staff where very friendly and helpful apart from the change incident.

A short walk from the center of Gent where there are lots of restarants, beware lots of the kitchens close early on a sunday evening!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanWhetstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed at the Sandton Reylof last weekend with some friends. To be honest it was about the only hotel with rooms left in town but it looked really nice and the location was only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town.
First impressions were very good. The hotel is on the Hoogstraat which is a quiet street. The original part of the hotel is located in a lovely old building which has been completely renovated. We were in the Deluxe rooms which are a short walk across the quadrangle . The rooms were cavernous with a lovely balcony overlooking the dining area below. The sliding door opens half the length of the balcony giving that real feeling of actually being outside whilst in the room. Mind you it was 35 C that day so I cranked up the airco.
The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom really nice with a large rain shower, even a nice bathrobe was provided. There was also a large (maybe 40 inch) flat screen TV with lots of channels, even UK Channel 4 and Film 4. First time I ‘ve ever seen this in a European hotel.
Mini bar in the room had free still and sparkling water which was very welcome on such a hot day.
My only criticism of the room was that because it was so large it seemed a little stark. Perhaps a nice painting or two would make it less harsh
There’s a wellness centre in the quadrangle with a pool. Small but enough to cool down. We didn’t use the large bar inside the hotel but it was very nice although empty. I didn’t eat at the hotel either but there was quite a few doing so al fresco and what food I did see looked very nice.
The cocktail bar in the hotel was also empty when I went past. Shame as someone has obviously spent a lot of time and money on the interior of this hotel.
On Sundays you can pay an extra 25 euros and get a lazy Sunday checkout at 1700. This was fantastic after a night out in town.
All in all this is a top hotel in Ghent. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Magical cocktail bar!!! with all fresh fruits.
The decoration is very nice and modern with exentric color.
The parking is small so you have to arrive early to find a place. But you can park you car in the next street outside or choose an inside public parking near the hotel
The spa is peacefull.
Next time we come back in Ghent, we will take a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit-Bruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing