We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Ghent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Ghent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Service at this hotel was excellent and the highlight for me was the restaurant. The food served was innovative and perfectly prepared.

Location is very convenient as Ghent is easily navigated on foot. Within 5 mins walk there are plenty of shops and restaurants plus the pretty historic city centre.

Rooms are clean and modern in decor, with a quirky style that I loved. Huge shower was a bonus too.I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    876
    142
    31
    10
See reviews for
333
1,737
66
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights over a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a central location just a short stroll from most of the major sights; it's also directly on a tram route for those wishing to go further a field. The building itself is quite grand and the interior decor whilst probably not to everyone’s taste was, I thought very stylish and individual and a refreshing change from bland corporate hotels.

We stayed in the main building in a room on the third floor; the room was a very good size although it was a little dark as it only had one window; however as the ceilings were so high it still felt very airy and spacious. The room overlooked the main road and whilst you could hear the road at night I felt the noise was minimal and in my opinion would only disturb the lightest of sleepers. The bed itself was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was again a good size with a particularly large shower and what my wife described as the best robes she's come across, that said the towels could have done with being a lot bigger. The room had a desk, TV, sofa and a safe and minibar in the wardrobe; we thought that the free bottles of water in the minibar were a nice touch.

Our room included breakfast which we both thought was very good with a wide selection of both sweet and savoury items, we particularly like the fact that you could make yourself a take away coffee and would love to see other hotels take this idea up. We had a drink in the hotels main bar a couple of nights and whilst the price was quite reasonable we did have to wait quite a while to be served on some occasions, I think this may be due to there not being a dedicated "barman" rather it seemed to be waiting staff that were also doing to orders for the restaurant, this wasn't a major issue but is an area I think the hotel can improve on. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent, really tasty food presented very well, the only thing to be aware off is that they stop service at 10 on a Sunday (possibly other nights too) our waitress didn't mention this to us so when we asked for the desert menu we were told that it was too late, again not a major issue but something to improve on.

The hotel has a separate spa which is housed in what I believe was the old stable house, whilst the gym and pool are not the biggest they were certainly adequate for a light work out and quick dip, the spa itself was a nice relaxing place to be, my wife had a massage which she thought was excellent and really good value for money.

We found all of the staff to be very pleasant and professional but feel that the stand out was the receptionist Nikolass, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him and it felt like he genuinely wanted us to have a great time, a real credit to the hotel.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were in Ghent and we would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I spent 3 nights at this nice hotel in Gent , most probably the best one in town. it is very close to the centre, just a few meters from the major attractions, and convenient even if u need to use public transportation, i.e. the tram nr 1 stop is just half a block away. the staff is very nice, high quality food and great breakfast. i also had a nice dinner, not too expensive, and with interesting dishes. I defenetively recommend this hotel. i was in a deluxe room, very silent one, bith big marble bathroom and amenities. the room even had a small balcony facing a nice internal garden. very relaxing env. and very cosy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedritogiandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
232 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We did spend here a weekend with some work collegues and had an excellent organisation to thank a weekend without any problems. The hotel itselves is lovely, good location, nice large rooms, lovely bar and restaurant. Nothing to much and very good care of customers made this weekend nearly perfect. Also the food in the Lof Restaurant was good and came with very good service. Breakfast buffet was very good, altough its a pitty you have to pay extra to get a decent cup of coffee instead of the regular one (i do like my espresso in the morning), but at least they provide it for you with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is gorgeous from the outside, and perfectly located a short walk from the main tourist attractions and the foodie's haven of eateries. It's not right smack in the centre of the busy part, but it's close enough so that's it's not far. Location was perfect.

The inside of the hotel is so beautifully decorated.

There is a spa and pool, which we didn't use, but it looked amazing.

There is a lovely bar where you can have cocktails, gorgeously decorated.

And an amazing restaurant with lovely food, great service, and a great beer menu (what more could you ask for in Belgium?). Beers were so reasonably priced we were astonished.

We first had a hotel room on the ground floor, which was a beautiful room, tastefully decorated, high ceilings, gorgeous bathroom, floor to ceiling windows, separate study etc. Lovely. the problem was it was right next to the road. There was probably only a metre or two between the bed and the road with cars driving past. So with those lovely floor to ceiling windows, it wasn't very private, and it also wasn't very quiet. So we asked to change rooms, and they put us in an apartment out the back, which was amazing. Again, the bathroom was lovely (shower only, no bath), the room was tastefully decorated and all the things you could want were there, flatscreen TV, kitchen, separate walkin wardrobe, separate toilet, couches and a table and chairs to dine on. Balcony was lovely overlooking the gorgeous courtyard.

We loved it, but I have to say if we hadn't been able to change rooms, my perceptions of my stay would probably have been different.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor. Choose an apartment if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samaraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Both this hotel and Gent were a real find. We were travelling south and stayed here as a stopover, but loved the town and found the hotel more superior to many 5* hotels we've stayed at.
It was slighly unusual to have a room at street level, but the hotel was modern, spotless and staff very friendly.
Value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlissingen
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We booked this hotel for staying over a night at the beautiful city of Ghent for a valentine's dinner. The hotel is not in in the middle of the old city center, but just outside. Their own parking is limited, so we choose a public parking just nearby. The room was very modern styled, a nice and clean bathroom and one of the things we enjoyed most is that there is an exclusive cocktail-bar inside the hotel, as well as a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing