We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

What a great hotel. This trip was for our 30 th Wedding Anniversary and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. From the personal card congratulating us to the quality bottle of wine brought to our room. The Delux double room was worth the little extra. The hotel is ideally situated for walking into the historic part of the city where there are restaurants aplenty. Minor criticism; could have done with brew facility in the room Wellness treatments were expensive. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgrtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    913
    149
    31
    10
See reviews for
348
1,838
68
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Loved the hotel! Great location. The rooms maybe noisy, could hear the neighbours.

The Front Office Manager, Nikolaas De Boodt, was excellent, recommended great restaurants, was most professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debussy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This hotel is simply a must. It is located in the heart of one of Europe's most beautiful cities. The service is excellent, the food amazing, the hotel beautiful clean and very up to date.
Although are room was not a suite it was significantly larger then most rooms we have booked throughout Europe.
The spa was spotless, and very relaxing.
Service prompt and extremely caring and polite.
The beds are new, very comfortable and wonderful bedding.
The food, I was amazed at every meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

After a good sauna, an excellent diner, an excellent night and excellant breakfest I left very satisfied the hotel in morning. Arriving at my meeting in town, I discovered that I forgot my iPad in the hotelroom ...@#$$%% ! However calling the hotel, immediately was checked if it still was there and offered to me to bring it. This all without me even needed to ask for and free of charge. Great reassurance and excellant service. Thank you !
Although I was there for business, there is also a nice warm athmosphere and thinking about returning as couple.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A tricky hotel to review in some ways.
Our room was slightly odd in that it had a reasonable sized lounge and an unnecessary kitchen area and a small bedroom.Didn't remember booking that.
Complimentary minibar was ok ( champagne included) but not refilled.
Breakfast was busy and a wait was usual (but it was included in the rate) and was fine.
The walk to the historic old town was only ten minutes or so.
Didn't use the pool but the hotel did have one.
The price was good for what was included, the rooms were just a bit generic to get too excited about .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel in December-January. It is situated within walking distance from the main sites - between 5 and 10 minutes walk. From the rail station it's about 5 minutes drive by taxi (8.5 euro). Both check in and check out were fast and efficient.
Rooms are large and clean. Bathoom is large too, equipped with Villeroy & Bosch.
I can say nothing about breakfast and spa - didn't use them.
The hotel has very impressive internal garden that should be pretty nice during warmer season.
If you are looking for a good location to explore Flanders, then Ghent and Sandton Reylof is a good choice: max an hour (door-to-door) to Brussels, Brugge and Antwerp for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We recently stayed at Grand Hotel Reylof and had an enjoyable experience. The room was very neat and tidy. The hotel facilities (lobby, wellness center, indoor pool) were very nice to use especially at the end of December. We did not eat the breakfast or dinner so I cannot comment on the quality of food. The dinning room, bar area, and cocktail bar, looked very pleasant and welcoming. I would be prepared to pay a marked up price for a meal though. The staff treated us very nicely and even called to make a reservation for us at another restaurant. The location is also very good, not in the city center but only a 10 minute walk. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends and even complete strangers on T.A.

My only tip for the hotel would be to increase the efficiency of the checkout process.

Room Tip: We opted for the "cozy room". It is the best value and is no smaller than any other Europ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing