We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in the Reylof suite, the room was very large, there were 2 wardrobes, a large bath in the room, separate WC and a separate shower room. The hotel is beautiful (at least the old side we stayed in). There is also a small spa area with an indoor pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly, they made us feel welcome the minute we stepped in. The hotel is not in the centre of town but it is only a brisk walk away and a taxi ride from the station to the hotel takes under 15mins (costs about 10euros). We had a lovely stay and would thoroughly recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gig700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 3,601 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I liked this hotel a lot: the staff are very friendly and helpful; the hotel is very modern and in good condition. The rooms are clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

Plus points are given for free wifi, but it would be nice if they did not block VPN access.

The wellness area is well equipped, and the staff there are very good.

The pool is smaller than it appears: about ten metres long - but it is an endless pool, so this may not matter.

Location-wise the hotel was perfect for me, but perhaps not for everyone - best to check.

The breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

now the Marriott has real competition. Many Hotels in Gent are old and low level. This one is really great, new, spacy with ****+ like service. If you know the Marriott, try this one next and forget all the rest. By the way: the first one with a pool. Wifi is compßlementary. The Garage was full, but there is another (new and save) one around the corner and I payed € 4,50 only for the night. The Hotel is in the center of Gent which is quite convenient as it is in walking distance for most of the nice retaurants and attractions, but take your time to reach the hotel by car. This is always a challenge in Gent (lot's of construction sites, one way street and don't trust your GPS :-)

Room Tip: I had room 82 in an extra building cross the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

All nice people, very helpfull and with style, great room, excellent breakfast. Nice bars in the evening. A welness centre that will not allow too many guests, but in our experience, you have the sauna and pool, as well as the quite rest areas for your self. There is also a nicely equipped, not too much used gym.

Parking in the garage was for free, the location is perfect for visitting all the nice spots in the beautifull city of Gent.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room in the 'old' 18th century building. In the garden there is a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed in the Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof for four nights - our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We were not disappointed, we loved the hotel, the location was ideal and the staff very helpful, welcoming & attentive.
The two dinners we eat in the hotel were excellent and the breakfasts were one of the best I've had in a European hotel.
The spa & swimming pool were very good; would recommend the hotel unreservedly.
Only two minor quibles, a change from the very avant garde jaz played in the restaurant at breakfast would have been welcome and the aircon in our room seemed to have a mind of its own, otherwise just great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomber633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

What a great hotel. This trip was for our 30 th Wedding Anniversary and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. From the personal card congratulating us to the quality bottle of wine brought to our room. The Delux double room was worth the little extra. The hotel is ideally situated for walking into the historic part of the city where there are restaurants aplenty. Minor criticism; could have done with brew facility in the room Wellness treatments were expensive. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgrtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Loved the hotel! Great location. The rooms maybe noisy, could hear the neighbours.

The Front Office Manager, Nikolaas De Boodt, was excellent, recommended great restaurants, was most professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debussy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £112 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing