We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour of Flanders Weekend 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tour of Flanders Weekend 2013”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Outstanding hotel. Excellent service from all the staff, all of whom were English speakers. The rooms in the new part of the hotel at the back were very quiet and the beds were the best we have found in any hotel. Excellent breakfast as well. Given the quality we experienced, we actually think the prices charged are very reasonable. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerqs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    896
    147
    31
    10
See reviews for
341
1,797
68
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof is a very nice hotel on the doorstep of the center of the city.
The hotel is build in beautifull old buildings with respect to the earlier atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helped where they were able to.
Internet is free in the rooms, wifi. Nice breakfast.
We went to the opera, 10 minutes walk from the hotel with special arangments for people who stay in the hotel.
It is a hotel to recomment to everybody. Room and bathroom are 100% clean and well equiped.

Room Tip: We stayed at the first floor and were a bit doubt for street noise, but thius was not the case. May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is someting we do not really understand. Nice building, nice ideas inside but overall: senseless! Cuisine is (acceptable) good if you are: really hungry, don't have much time because after your arrival you almost immediately need to leave for a meeting. Ordered a salad and steak - what we got was absolutely below average. We had a double room, breakfast included; but you pay extra for your cappuccino. Room is absolutely average. Interesting decoration inside the hotel. Service is average. Smiling seems to be forbidden here except the breakfast concierge and one waitress.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
249 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The hotel is in the center of Ghent, perfectly located in an old beautiful building. The interior is amazing, well decorated with a magnificent mix of modern and old. The rooms beautiful and clean, the bathroom very modern, just lovely also the small balconies. The only thing I did not like was the air conditioned, that was not worked properly and the room was a bit cold. The breakfast is nice, but nothing special. Finally a nice thanks to the staff that was vey kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
397 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice. Very near the city center. About 10 minutes walk. Has a good restaurant and the service and food quality are of first class. Their is a parking place 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms have good space, clean and some of them have even a balcony.
Sometimes reception does take time to get your bill.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Been in Ghent several times on buisness trips and spent several nights in quite poor hotels with bad service and lousy breakfast. That was until I discovered Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof.Amazingly big rooms and great standard all over. Breakfast was top of the line. Unfortunately I didn't have time to try out the relax area, but maybe next time. The dinning area is fantastic with a huge bar, great to calm down with a beer before dinner. I highly recomend this hotel to everyone I know will travel to Ghent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I.ve been one night at the Reylof in Ghent. The hotel is almost new with spacious common ares, with restaurand and longe bar. The hotel is in a wonderful hystorical palace located few minutes walk form the major touristic areas. My room was big with a small bathroom according to Belgian style. All the hotel was very clean. Fitenss and pool are reasonable but they are located in the courtyard so that in winter you have to wear and unwear in the lockers room. This is not really nice when freezing. Rates are reasonable but breakfas is crazy compared with the room rate: 20 euro !! Staff friendly and efficient,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing