We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, good location, fine services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Mijnsheerenland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, good location, fine services”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a very nice weekend in the Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof Gent. The hotel is nicely decorated with beautiful art and original furniture. The service is truly friendly and helpful.
Take one of hotel the bikes to see the city.

Room Tip: Take the luxury room, you will enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hein N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    932
    153
    32
    11
See reviews for
359
1,871
69
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahr, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Located just 5 minutes from City Centre, this is a stylish gem. Everywhere perfect craftmenship and partly crazy, but always tasteful decoration. Room was big with excellent furnitures and a big bathroom with all the convenience we like. Very friendly and supportive staff. Complimentary internet access. Big and tasty breakfast.

Room for improvement: Poor coffee for breakfast; capuccino costs extra, which we fond inappropriate. Ridiculously high prices in hotel parking garage. Tip: Park house "Ramen" around the corner costs half.

Restaurant is also excellent.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our second visit here and it was just as good as the first; we also plan to return in the summer too! The location is a short walk from the city centre and you can park either in the hotel car park if there is space or in the public car park nearby which is completely secure (and cheaper than the hotel too). We had a deluxe room which we had booked directly - it was spacious and nicely decorated - and we also had an extra bed put in for our son. The room rate was reasonable and included breakfast. There were a range of items on offer from cooked bacon, eggs and sausage through to cold meats (including smoked salmon), cheese, fresh fruits, pastries etc. We find the staff to be friendly and helpful, Nikolaas especially so. Ghent is a lovely place to visit and this hotel is first rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallileofigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Travelled with my girlfriend over Valentines weekend to Ghent. The hotel has a real wow factor ... Bit of a art / interior designer gone mad feel to it ... But we loved it.
Hotel staff were amazing ... my girlfriend was very ill on our second day, the staff extended our check out time to 6pm with no charge, the kitchen made a toasted cheese sandwich for her as they knew she was ill. Just great service. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We only stayed here for one night and we were really impressed. We stayed in a modern room on the second floor overlooking the garden. Lovely pool and even better spa located in the annexe. Chose not to have breakfast in the hotel opting instead for the local deli just a bit further down the same road. The staff also were very helpful. Couldn't fault anything about our stay but as has been said before a little kettle in our room wouldn't have gone amiss for a drink upon arrival and before bedtime. Ghent is a very picturesque city with charming old buildings sitting pretty alongside the canals. It also has a plethora of trendy bars to soak up the atmosphere and savour some of the finest beers in the world. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was clean, modern and the breakfast was great! There are two reasons though as to why I never awarded the 5 stars. First off no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. May sound trivial but makes such a difference after a long day travelling to be able to have a nice cup of tea in privacy. The second was the ridiculously slow reception staff. Not sure as to whether it was down to procedures but check in/out and general information was so slow. We almost missed our train due to having to wait almost 25 minutes to check out! Grievances aside, the Reylof is a very comfortable hotel in a lovely city. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

To be fair to the hotel the communal areas of the hotel are just as beautiful as the pictures, it's a lovely location and Ghent is a cool little spot to visit for a day or two

But I found the hotel staff rude and condescending. On our initial check in my room requests weren't accounted for and though they were able to accommodate a move in my room it was hardly with a spring in their step. They also didn't return the credit card they took for my incidentals (they allege I must have misplaced it - without really taking my request seriously to look into the matter- as a highly organised business owner I found this infuriating.)

And the owner of the spa was highly demanding of payment, after my treatment I assumed I could add the treatment costs to my room bill, when she explained it was a separate business my partner had to go and get a payment card (as my toenails were drying & I was a bit incapacitated) he arrived within 10 minutes during which time the spa owner came and moaned at me twice for payment. It was clear I wasn't going anywhere and after paying a 200 euro bill it would have been nice to have been spoken to with courtesy.

The deluxe room was also slightly disappointing with a distracting lime green stripy wallpaper and it wasn't of a very good size.

Overall this experience could have been a million times better with a few more smiles and a little less presumption

Room Tip: Request a room in the old part of the hotel- much nicer! New rooms have low ceilings and are a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing