We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - would have enjoyed a second night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sandton on the last night of our stay in Belgium. After a long day of walking through Ghent's old city (which is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel), we decided to spend the rest of the evening on the hotel terrace since we had to leave really early the next day. We enjoyed some drinks and a good meal on the terrace.

The room was really nice and large, modernly decorated with style. The large glass shower and separate bathroom and toilet also were a nice change from the previous hotels we stayed at.

If I'd have had a night more I would have liked to try the spa/pool/gym facilities, but there was simply not enough time.

I also would like to thank the night shift staff for arranging a small breakfast for 'on-the-road' for us and for printing our boarding passes!

Room Tip: If you are given the choice take a room facing the courtyard!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,422)
There are newer reviews for Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 3,422 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for just one night but wished we'd have stayed longer. We arrived at midday and early check in was no problem at no extra cost, we even got an upgrade! Very friendly staff, great location, never ate there so can comment but a lovely setting! We also got a good deal so shop around and definitely stay here, no1 choice in Antwerp!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ht227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is good and so is the staff but the room was very oddly shaped with a lot of empty space which should have been used to have a good dresser or a bigger wardrobe which was lacking in the room. The food wasn't great that we were expecting it to be so evaluate your options outside before you decide to spend the evening in the hotel restaurant. The hotel is probably well known for it's spa which we didn't get a chance to try out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Absolutely recommended to everyone who enjoys finesse, excellent food, relaxing environment and GREAT service! Having dinner in the Lof restaurant was for me a wonderful, relaxing, anti-stress experience I would love to repeat anytime soon! The restaurant is part of the Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof, a beautiful hotel in the city of Ghent. We had dinner in a very cosy terrace. The service was PERFECT! I have never felt so much respected and taken care of in any of the restaurants I have eaten before. Professional people who do know what hospitality means! You could see they all have a lot of love for their profession! The food was AMAZING! The combination of the dishes, of the flavours was excellent!! The hotel is in the Hoogstraat, in the middle of the city but when you are there you feel you are miles aways from the stress of the city itself. Great service, beautiful rooms, amazing interior and a great team! Thank you so much Reylof and Lof for giving me the best weekend in a long time! We will be back for sure! Erinda Mehmeti

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is located a 5 minute walk from main tourist areas of Ghent. This turned out to be the right distance as staying in the center of the tourist trap area gets really old quickly. This hotel feels like an old palace when you walk in but the facilities have been updated with a beautiful dining area and modern rooms. There is an excellent shared outdoor space where you can have drinks or a snack. Our room was comfortable, with modern amenities and a nice view of the courtyard from our small balcony. I would definitely stay here again if back in Ghent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place was fantastic all around. The people are amazing: their front desk staff, waiters, breakfast staff, housekeepers, bartenders, interns... all incredibly responsive, professional and just genuinely nice. The rooms are very spacious and sound proof. Love the heated bathroom floor and balcony overlooking the garden. The hotel itself is in a perfect place to explore Gent. The value of this hotel really is exceptional based on the location, room size and amazing staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Beautifully decorated hotel, the bedrooms are very spacious with a wonderful shower. We stayed in room 182 which had a huge balcony overlooking the main hotel. The hotel was conveniently located within a 5 minute walk to the centre of Ghent where you could find many restaurants and shops. The buffet breakfast was nice (not amazing) but served until 11am which was great.
The hotel boasts a very impressive bar, would have loved to have stayed longer to enjoy more time using the facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £103 - £1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing