We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramadan/perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I am staying in the hotel from 4 months now.Everytime I walk in recption recognize me and greet me with my name Check-in take literally couple of min.

One event which really push me to write this review, its a holy month of ramadan and on my request they provide me breakfast 3 o clock in night.... amazing couldn't ask for more... it feel like home away from home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Farhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Not only was Ghent a vibrant city, but the Hotel Reylof staff made it shine in my memory. Passport and identity papers were recovered after being left in the safe under an instruction sheet. The first person I spoke with was off the following day, the first chance to check the room following the successive guest's departure. No problem, the next staff person was equally helpful and on top of verifying address and handling the best transit of the documents. Thank you all! Hoping to return to Ghent for more of this city's culture and festivals and will definitely book this hotel for comfort, location and excellent staff at all phases of interaction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was my first time staying in Ghent and it's a really nice and picturesque Flemish town. The Hotel is really conveniently situated just on the edge of the town centre - no more than a 5 minute walk (but I tend to walk at pace). Reasonable sized, well appointed room with a large bathroom and walk in shower. All the amenities on hand. It was a bit of a trek from reception to the elevator as the rooms appear to be in a newer part of the building and reception in an older part - there may be rooms in the old part too. Definitely stay there again if ever back in Ghent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel 30 minutes tram ride from station and 10 to 15 minutes walk to historic centre. Hotel decor is elegant but looking a little tired. The hotel's location is in an area that looked to be a poor part of Ghent. We booked a Charming Room (114) in the main building which was huge and well equipped with a modern bathroom. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff were friendly and courteous. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've been to Ghent many times. I've stayed quite a few times at the Marriott, but what an upgrade this was! I stayed in the cheapest option room (which has different names depending on which site you book through). This was a nice sized bright room with a large terrace. Very quiet too. The hotel is modern and staff are friendly. There is a beautiful garden where you can enjoy drinks from the bar. Breakfast is overpriced and nothing special - you're better off having a breakfast at one of the local cafés. We tried the restaurant one evening - the atmosphere is what you can expect from a hotel (not great) with dreadful "hotel music" playing in the background. However, the food was fantastic. For the first time at a hotel I booked a massage - I can really recommend Marjorie, who knows her stuff. I will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

just come back from this hotel and were really disappointed. We booked on line. Room was in the annexe which was a basic apartment block away from the main building. The French Doors opened directly onto a public street so everytime we needed to undress or whatever we had to close the curtains on what was an extremely hot week. Room was small and oddly furnished with mishmash of furniture plus the annexe smelt rather like a Buddhist Temple. I've nothing against that but this is Belguim not Thailand!!!!!!. There was no bulb in the bedside lamp and no corkscrews available to open the complementary water. the only water with a screw cap was part of the mini bar and therefore had to be purchased!!!!!. It was very corporate and it seemed the staff were not interested in the holiday guests, but only in the business travellers. The welness centre had a small pool which you couldn't really seriously swim in. Worst of all though was the feeling of insecurity because of the French Door situation. The doors could be locked and had to be pulled open from the inside. OK aparently someone couldn't actually get in but what was to stop anyone from the street staring at you while you were sleeping or whatever. One evening we had the dubious experience of watching two men fighting right outside our window and another night the local teenage boys held a skateboard tournament again right outside our window!!!! Lovely!!!!! We had to keep the very thick curtains closed all night and had a toss up between noisy air con or stifling heat with drawn curtains. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't book on line. Speak to them direct and book a room in the main hotel. Expect to be ignored...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkinbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June. Apart from not having a kettle and beverages in the room I could not fault the hotel. Staff were courteous, unobtrusive, and helpful when help was sought. Breakfast was a relaxed self service with hot and cold options. The room (we negotiated an upgrade direct rather than go through an online agent) was very spacious as was the bathroom, where all the fittings with both functional and stylish. Large comfortable bed.
We usually ate breakfast in the enclosed garden. The hotel had a spa and a swimming pool but we did not use these facilities. Its restaurant did get good reviews but we ate out in the evenings

On advice of Trip Adviser we asked for an inward facing room in the old building and it was quiet. The weather was unseasonably hot so the air conditioning was on all the time and was effective and quiet. All in all, it was first rate.

Taxi fare to the station was about 8 Euros.

Whilst we were there we called at the tourist information and received several helpful guides and one on restaurants.

We ate at several places. Ghent is not like Bruges and English translations of menus are not common, but the food was good. The three I would recommend:-
Passion – on Emil Braunplein. It served traditional Flemish food it a matter of fact way – we had just arrived and simply wanted a quick meal and just had two main dishes - beef stew and chicken Waterzoi. Both were good. Service was fast and pleasant and it is in a good location and many sat outside.
Avalon – vegetarian restaurant that does five course gourmet meals on the first Friday and Saturday in the month. The food was fantastic; service was leisurely and very helpful. Would really recommend this one.
T’Kladerblad – Corduwainersstraat. A traditional restaurant. We choose from the set menu and had a very classy meal. Service was very good and helpful

Room Tip: On advice of Trip Adviser we asked for an inward facing room in the old building and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £103 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing