We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Find in a Small City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge Find in a Small City”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Sandton Hotel in July and were very pleased with the accomodations. This hotel is centrally located and perfect to be able to walk around and enjoy the city and go back and forth to/from day activities and dinner. We were very please with the size of our room as well as the spa which included a fitness center, steam room and sauna, as well as a pool. This was a nice added feature for visiting in a hot summer month. When we visit again, we will stay there without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    896
    147
    31
    10
See reviews for
341
1,793
68
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This grand building is in a back street of Gent yet only a few minutes walk from the historic centre. If you arrive by car the public car park 'Ramen' is very close and a good location to put into the Satnav.

The decor is rather special with mismatching wall paper / hangings and soft furnishing. Quite daring, the effect is good in all the public rooms, and obviously planned by an expert.

We had a 'delux' room on the 3rd floor. Spacious - plenty of room to dance - worth bringing a sound system. But no bath! This was a big surprise. And an enormous bed.

An intriguing dinner menu. Pick a time. Choose from 3, 4, or 5 courses. But then it's up to them. They dish is described to you and if you object to any ingredients they will adapt, but otherwise it is a colourful mix of many items arranged on the plate like a piece of art.

You can also have a wine selection which is matched to the food. We paid 18 euros each for wine to match our 3 course dinner and a different wine arrived with each course. Not spectacular but satisfying quantity and quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was well located, only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We only stayed for one night but we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff on reception were very polite and helpful on our arrival. Our room was in the annexe through the garden and it was very well appointed. Breakfast was a buffet with hot and cold options. I am sure we will be making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnELown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I am staying in the hotel from 4 months now.Everytime I walk in recption recognize me and greet me with my name Check-in take literally couple of min.

One event which really push me to write this review, its a holy month of ramadan and on my request they provide me breakfast 3 o clock in night.... amazing couldn't ask for more... it feel like home away from home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Farhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Not only was Ghent a vibrant city, but the Hotel Reylof staff made it shine in my memory. Passport and identity papers were recovered after being left in the safe under an instruction sheet. The first person I spoke with was off the following day, the first chance to check the room following the successive guest's departure. No problem, the next staff person was equally helpful and on top of verifying address and handling the best transit of the documents. Thank you all! Hoping to return to Ghent for more of this city's culture and festivals and will definitely book this hotel for comfort, location and excellent staff at all phases of interaction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was my first time staying in Ghent and it's a really nice and picturesque Flemish town. The Hotel is really conveniently situated just on the edge of the town centre - no more than a 5 minute walk (but I tend to walk at pace). Reasonable sized, well appointed room with a large bathroom and walk in shower. All the amenities on hand. It was a bit of a trek from reception to the elevator as the rooms appear to be in a newer part of the building and reception in an older part - there may be rooms in the old part too. Definitely stay there again if ever back in Ghent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel 30 minutes tram ride from station and 10 to 15 minutes walk to historic centre. Hotel decor is elegant but looking a little tired. The hotel's location is in an area that looked to be a poor part of Ghent. We booked a Charming Room (114) in the main building which was huge and well equipped with a modern bathroom. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff were friendly and courteous. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Property: Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€28/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing